HDD size limitation on Mac?

• jdh77
  • jdh77

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello all,

As a newbie to the Mac world, I am wondering what the HDD size limitation factors are on Macs, if any?

• bleepnik
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: South Jersey, US

Post 3+ Months Ago

On a desktop? SATA? Whatever the highest is right now... 750? a terabyte? Mac, un-Mac, doesn't matter, connections/cables (SATA, Firewire, USB) are the same.
  • jdh77
  • jdh77

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks for the reply!

I take it you are saying "there are not the limitations such as the BIOS limitations experienced in the PC world."

You input IS appreciated.

Thanks!
  • bleepnik
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: South Jersey, US

Post 3+ Months Ago

That's a good question, John, and one I can't answer with complete certainty. I'm still pretty new to the platform, myself. To the best of my knowledge, however, it's the interface that would present any sort of limitation (like having to buy an SATA card for an older Mac or something) rather than the drive's size. Again to the best of my knowledge, as long as you've got the right connections, you just plug it in and it works.
  • jdh77
  • jdh77

Post 3+ Months Ago

O.K., I've a new 300 Gb IDE I think... that might make a good test for my purposes. I'll try it on an older machine just to test it.

Thanks,
  • AnarchY SI
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: /usr/src/MI

Post 3+ Months Ago

jdh77 wrote:
O.K., I've a new 300 Gb IDE I think... that might make a good test for my purposes. I'll try it on an older machine just to test it.

Thanks,

it'll handle 300GB without a problem. if you'd really want to test the limits you'd need a couple terabytes for older systems and for OS X you'd need more storage than what most people have fluid funds for :]

Quote:
System 7.5.2 (and newer) increases this limit to 2 terabytes on some computers,...
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=11333

Quote:
Volume and file limits in Mac OS X