I made the switch =)

• bleepnik
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: South Jersey, US

Post 3+ Months Ago

I've been working with PCs of one sort or another for over 20 years. Although I'm pretty platform-agnostic, I have to admit that my experience with Macs has been pretty awful, and I never once had the urge to switch.

Until OS X. I've been drooling pretty much since its release, and I've only gotten greener over time. But y'know, thinking about the monetary investment into the hardware and software, and the behavioural adjustment of unlearning some of the old and learning some of the new, kept me from switching.

And then there was *the* announcement. And much chaos ensued in the community. And there was a clamour in the forums. And yea but I had many a doubt about this IntelliMac/MacIntel business. And there were new minis and new laptops, but no new powerful workstations. And so I did not switch.

But now there is the Mac Pro. And now there is Parallels Desktop, which will hopefully minimise my initial investment (software!) and permit me to sidegrade over time.

And so... I have switched:

2 x 3GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon processors
2GB DDR2 RAM
1 x 500GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s 7200rpm hard drive
1 x NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB graphics card
1 x 16x double-layer SuperDrive
Bluetooth 2.0+EDR and AirPort Extreme
Apple Wireless Keyboard and Apple wireless Mighty Mouse
AppleCare

The only thing I didn't skimp on is the processor. I figure I can upgrade the rest over time. I wanted to keep the initial investment low enough to not die of a coronary before opening the box.

This is an upgrade from an old AMD Athlon with 512MB of RAM, so this is *huge* for me. I don't think I've really slept since Sunday night, when I placed the order. =)

A couple useful books for anyone considering switching:
- Mac OS X Tiger: The Missing Manual, Tiger Edition
- Switching to the Mac: The Missing Manual, Tiger Edition

Okay, I'll stop babbling now. Just wanted to share my excitement.