Fade to background

• Cae
  • Expert
  • Expert

Post 3+ Months Ago

Im making this pseudo-collagelike picture in photoshop, and I want to be able to fade pictures from one layer into the one below it. I cant do a 'normal' fade using a gradient because my background is not a solid color. I guess waht I need is a way to gradually decrease the opacity down a gradient, but I am not sure how do do this. Does anyone know how I could do this, or another way I could achieve the same end?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• digitalMedia
  • a.k.a. dM
  • Genius
  • Loc: SC-USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Your in luck. :D

I'm sure you know how to find the Gradient tool in the toolbox. Once it's selected, some options for the tool will appear in the bar below the text menu(File, Edit, View, etc.). Click on the gradient bar you see there (click on the gradient itself, not the drop-down button).

The resulting dialog should look like this. Observe the big gradient bar that about 2/3rds the way down the dialog.

There are keys on the top and bottom of the bar. The keys on the top control opacity stops. The keys on the bottom control color stops. Select a stop key by clicking on it. When it's highlighted, you'll find an opacity percent slider in the area below.

Nice thing here is that your opacity and color stops aren't tied to each other. This is a great gradient editor. :thumbsup:

BTW: One of the default gradient types is foreground to transparent. Instead of clicking on the gradient itself in the options panel, click on the drop down arrow.
  • Cae
  • Expert
  • Expert

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yeah, but the foreground and bacground in the gradient editor arent layers, they are the foreground and background colors on the tools bar...

I guess I phrased my question poorly... I want to fade one layer into another gradually, so that it looks like the layer is fading into the layer below it...
  • digitalMedia
  • a.k.a. dM
  • Genius