help with lines and curves

• Z
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Z

Post 3+ Months Ago

hey,

i am making a new banner for a forum and i just always have trouble making perfectly curved (not wobbly) lines.... i just cant paint perfectly straight with a mouse... im new to photoshop so please explain it like i was in kindergarden.

for example...you see how in at this site in the banner at the top next to the green character there is a perfectly smooth curved line that makes everything to the rest of it darker... how do you make the lines so smooth and even?

thanks for your time,
nick
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• bleepnik
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: South Jersey, US

Post 3+ Months Ago

Erm.. what green character?

To contrain your brush stroke to a straight line in Photoshop, hold down the Shift key while painting.

To create perfect curves, select the Marquee tool (M on your keyboard, the dotted line tool in the tool palette). If using your keyboard, type Shift+M to cycle through the Marquee tool options, until you get to the elliptical Marquee tool. If using your mouse, click-and-hold to until the options appear and then select the appropriate tool.

So. Now you have the elliptical Marquee tool selected. Draw your ellipse by clicking and dragging your mouse. Want to constrain the shape to a perfect circle? Hold down the Shift key while dragging.

When you're happy with your shape, click on Edit > Stroke (I think, I don't have Photoshop running at the moment), and select the pixel width of the stroke; whether you want it inside your shape, outside it, or centred on the line; and its colour. Click OK.

Now you have a nice ellipse or circle. Great. Now either use the eraser to delete what you don't want from the shape; or, if you want a more precise cut, use the Marquee tool again to draw a selection that covers the part you want to erase and hit Delete.

Ta da. Perfect curve.