How to make large mosaic art with your PC and printer.

• The Dude
  • The Dude

Post 3+ Months Ago

How to make large mosaic art with your PC and printer.

Hi, I have been doing this for several years now and I find it very rewarding. Mosaics make great gifts if you’re strapped for cash (which I am this xmas), but not only that you can really personalize a gift.

First of all to do this you will need a program called Picture Window. You can dl and use it for free of the first 30 days. If you have another program with the same capability that’s fine.

If you have a print preview option built in to you printer software I suggest you turn it on.

Start picture window and open picture file. Depending on the aspect ratio if your image is wider that it’s height go to > File > Print Setup and select landscape. Click OK.

Now select > File > Print
You should see the standard printer dialog box > Click OK.

Look down on the left side of the dialog box for Vertical Tile and Horizontal Tile. Using the arrow adjust the amount of tiles you need depending of the proportions of you image.

Setting your Tile Overlap:

Depending on how picky you are you may want the tiles to overlap slightly so you get no missing bits (I’m picky).

For photos, I use an overlap of 1.5 but for canvases and tapestries I use 1.75-2.00. Click OK and print your project. Make sure the Print Pages field is set to print all pages not just the first.

For mosaic photographs: Great for panoramics and easy to do.

You will need the following

Photo printer paper
A display board (foam rubber is good as is wood)
Photo mounting tape
A combination square/ruler (a T-square will do)
A pencil and eraser
A can of Acrylic spray or other such sealant (you can get very specific types for printer photos)
A cutting board or a surface to cut on and a box cutter (you may or may not need this depending on the size of the board you want to mount your mosaic photo)