3D Modelling aps...

• Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

Aside from the usual "big boys" (3DS Max, Maya, etc) that nobody except professionals can legally afford ;) what OpenSource/Cheap (100 bucks or less) 3D modelling applications do you all use?

I've been having a look at a few different OSS modelling applications today, and overall I've not been TOO impressed, but some show promise.

OpenFX is one that seems to be highly praised, but I found it pretty lacking personally - although I'll admit I've limited experience with 3D Modelling apps these days. The last time I played with 3D Modellers was when 3D Studio was still available for DOS :)

Aztec shows some promise, it's being completely rewritten from scratch, and what's been done so far is pretty impressive, although there are some pretty essential features missing - I'll be keeping a close eye on this one.

I got a copy of Maya 5 PLE (Personal Learning Edition) free with Unreal Tournament 2004, and it's REALLY nice, but obviously, the big huge watermark on real-time rendered previews & final renders makes it impossible for any kind of practical use (which is understandable considering the full application costs 7 grand).

I also came across an application called Wings 3D, which is as close to the features of Maya as I can find. It will do what I've been attempting to do in Maya (which is basically box-modelling a head), although it's does it in a long-winded real pain-in-the-ass way. Like I said, i can do in this what I need to do in Maya, but with the advantage of being able to render a final image, and export to a multitude of nice formats (including VRML which I think I'll have a good play with eventually), and it supports IMAGE PLANES! (something I disappointingly found lacking in both Aztec & OpenFX).