Need help with transparency issue

• garry2005
  • Born
  • Born
  • garry2005

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello...a newbie here, and not all that proficient with Photoshop 7.

Maybe my questy should have been "How do I get rid of a particular color in an image or object".

I use a little program called SmartDraw to create various objects, which can then be saved as jpg, gif, bitmap or whatever. Problem is, SmartDraw doesn't have the smarts to transport an image with a transparent background, so I end up with, say, a rounded-rectangle (or a circle) inside a white, rectangular box with white, square corners. I can set the SmartDraw background to any color (except transparent) and it transports okay.

A Small favor: If anyone is able to help me with this, please understand that I use P/7 infrenquently to sharpen or blur a picture, or maybe resize it, but...I do not know what I'me doing with it. So if you tell me to "Use the Gloppiter tool" and leave it at that, believe me, it will indeed get left at that. I can probably find most things by menu, but I get lost in the cryptic sub-menu wording.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Garry (garry@jetcoder.com)
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Belk Media Group
  • Graphic Monk
  • Professor
  • Loc: In the heart of California, Fresno.

Post 3+ Months Ago

Well, I have no idea what SmartDraw is or it's capabilities. But, if you can, try saving it as a .PNG. Thats assuming your background is transparent within the program it self. If you are saying that you can not draw on a transparent background at all then you will not be able to do it with that particular program. What you can do is import your objects into your PS7 remove the white background then save as: .PNG. or GIF. Personally I always save in .PNG when I want to preserve transparancy.
  • garry2005
  • Born
  • Born
  • garry2005

Post 3+ Months Ago