Photoshop Actions

• ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I did an Ozzu search for this topic with no results. I have been assigned the task of creating a new company logo, and I'm not an expert with graphics by any means and perhaps only slightly better than beginner with Photoshop. However, a couple of days ago I discovered PS actions and have been getting some good results using them. I've already found Adobe's Studio Exchange Actions and have been working my way through some of them. I was wondering if anyone has some other good resources that they use for freeware actions. (Also, I'm using P.S. 6 - my expectation is that PS 7 actions may not work w/ it? Would that be correct?)

Thanks.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• musik
  • Legend
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: up a tree

Post 3+ Months Ago

I use actions all the time in PS7 as I work with a lot of images than often need the same thing applied to them all. I'm not familiar with Adobe's Studio Exchange unfortunetly.

But in PS7 you can actually record your own actions that you need so then you can apply exactly the same action to multiple images to get the same result. You just hit the record button, perform whatever actions you need to the image, then hit the stop button and its saved. You can then go to File > Automate > Batch and apply it to a whole folder of images.

As for the logo creation. I havent found anything better than Illustrator (vector art) to create all my client's logo's. You can turn an Illustrator file into any other kind of image you need - jpg, gif etc as well much easier to resize and use on printed material. For the majority of logo's you don't want any more than 3 colours or its gets pricey for printing costs.

:)
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago