Photoshop: Layers

• Smokenjoe
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: Anchorage, AK

Post 3+ Months Ago

I just got photoshop and a drawing tablet, and ive been drawing for almost 16 years, so i thought it was about time to branch out into some more difficult work, such as that of Samwise (for those of you not familiar, he is the primary artist for the gameing company Blizzard). It is a fun learning experience, but I was wondering if anyone who has had experience in this field could give me some basic ways to use layers. I normally draw out my piece of artwork, and then scan it into photoshop, so its set as the background. If anyone has some good tips, anything would be helpful.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

you might have wanted to post this in the "Drawing, Digital Art, and Photography Forum." ;)
  • DR01D
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • Loc: Australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

always good to start on paper, so if you gust want to use the sketch as a guide this is the best way. after that everone has a different technique, some work on single elements at once and others start from the ground up starting with outlines then filling, shading etc. i would say just play around and you will figure out the best way for you.
  • Smokenjoe
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind

Post 3+ Months Ago

alright, but what are the actualy uses of the layers.? i can understand that they are a major tool, but what are some basic ways to use them? What are they useful for? Just any ideas would be helpful. Maybe what another artist uses them for. Thx.
  • diverdan
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • diverdan
  • Loc: Alabama, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

you can let the layers overlap each other

you can blend them together (always an interesting thing to play with)

you can set levels for individual layers (take out red or yellow for instance)