Where do I start?

• drburrows
  • Born
  • Born
  • drburrows

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am of the "old school" when it comes to drawing and illustration and I am trying to understand how digital artists develop their artwork. If someone could point me to an example (tutorial, video, book, etc.) of how someone takes an idea from paper and develops it as digital art I would really appreciate it. I also need to understand what the "standard" software toolset is that most are using so I can take the required courses and get familiar with them. I graduated in Industrial Design MANY YEARS AGO and was side-tracked in my career and I would like to get back to it. The problem is things have changed so dramatically I do not know where to start. Any help and direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Dave
  • devilwood
  • Silver Member
  • Silver Member

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm not a graphic designer, but I've seen many people using a pad developed by a company called WACOM which is suppose to be real nice for drawing digitally. I believe it's just wacom.com. I can't really give an opinion on graphic editors like photoshop or fireworks because I just do the basic stuff and either work fine for me. You'll just have to pick one you're comfortable with. There are some very good graphic people that work the site here at ozzu so they will be able to help you more with a good tutorial site, etc once they get time to reply. I'm sure most will probably say use Photoshop as far as editors go. Fireworks was an editor by macromedia who is now owned by Adobe so I don't know if you can still get fireworks or support. Hope this gets you started.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

If you are talking for print and vector design (for example logos), I'm certain most will tell you Adobe Illustrator is the software of choice.