Board game in FLASH

• Stone D
  • Born
  • Born
  • Stone D

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello everybody.
I've heard that it's possible to create a board game in flash. I don't expect anything complicated, just a simple board imitating a soccer pitch (7 per 4 squares), twenty two movable objects and set of playing cards which can be drawn and discarded freely.
I realize the third assumption may be impossible to perform (I'm a complete newbie) but hope that the first two can be done. Could anyone give me some guidelines where I should start or give some advises?
  • joebert
  • Fart Bubbles
  • Genius
  • Loc: Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

You have heard right :D . You can create damn near anything with flash.

If your a "complete newbie", I suggest reading up on actionscript, becouse with requirements like 22 movable objects your going to NEED it :wink:
  • Sulfin
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't know if this'll help much, but when it's somebody's turn, you should have a variable called "turn_status". That way you can easily keep track of what the person has done.

If turn_status is 1, he is allowed to draw a card. When the card is drawn, his turn_status goes to 2. At 2, he can use the card to move or whatever. And it goes to 3. It's pretty good and I'm using it on my flash board game. This is just some advice so that when you become a "less-complete-newbe", you'll have a sample method.
  • OriginNO
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: the Glass City (Hometown: the NO)

Post 3+ Months Ago

First of all, all of the things you want to make your game do is possible but, If your a complete newb, like Joe says, you have a lot of reading to do. The first three subjects your going to need to know are: Random Numbers, Variables, and Arrays. Not neccessarly in that order. Either that, or planned on having somebody here script it for you, but whats the fun in that. Good luck, peace.
  • Sulfin
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: canada