Can you edit an external map .txt file via php!?

• dann_the_van
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • dann_the_van
  • Loc: South Wales, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi people,
this is my first time on a forum for flash, so please be easy on any mistakes i make along the way. i've only got into flash within the past few months, and i'm honest to say i'm not highly experienced within the actionscript field.

-------------------------

I'm working on a 3rd year university project using flash mx 2004. I'm using a code, similar to TonyPA's, to attach square movieclips onto the stage and then play a certain frame of that MC using data collected via loadVars. For example:
The 4th plotted tile is dynamically named "SQ4". This then loads a variable from a file named "SQ4.txt".

Upon testing this when published upon the web, the map builds quickly but then takes a few minutes to load the relevant data variables and then play it's specific frame. I must mention though, there is currently over 200 tiles on the screen, which loads bottom to top.

So, i decided to alter the script to load what frame to play, straight from the map coding.
i'm now using something along these lines...

map = [ [1, 2, 3, 1, 1, 2, 1, 1, 2, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 1, 1],
[1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 1, 1],
[1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 3, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 3, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 1, 1],
[1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 3, 3, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 1, 1]
];

the numbers represent what frame to play of each movieclip. 0 being empty, 1 being filled red, 2 blue, 3 yellow etc etc.