Flash HTML Help

• DJ Overpour
  • DJ Overpour

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have been trying to create a popup window in flash that will open an html popup window. I have been on http://www.kirupa.com and i tried the tutorial. I downloaded the source code and I am having alot of troubles. I cant even get the source code to load. It opens a browser window just fine but the page doesnt load. It just gives me an error "object expected".

When i click on my .swf file, it opens up a flash window. I click on the button and it opens the empty html window with the error.

If i insert that .swf into an html file it works fine, or if i open the .html file and click the button it opens fine as well.

My whole website if flash and i need a button that work as a .swf file. Please help me out if you can. Im a total newb so im not big on action script but heres my codes im using

flash button:
Code: [ Select ]
on (release) {
    getURL("javascript:openNewWindow('http://www.macromedia.com','thewin','height=400,width=400,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes') ");
}
  1. on (release) {
  2.     getURL("javascript:openNewWindow('http://www.macromedia.com','thewin','height=400,width=400,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes') ");
  3. }

html code:
<script language="JavaScript">
function openNewWindow(URLtoOpen, windowName, windowFeatures) {
newWindow=window.open(URLtoOpen, windowName, windowFeatures);
}
</script>
  1. <script language="JavaScript">
  2. function openNewWindow(URLtoOpen, windowName, windowFeatures) {
  3. newWindow=window.open(URLtoOpen, windowName, windowFeatures);
  4. }
  5. </script>

thats between the head tags. Please help as i cant get the html popup to comeup with the .swf only the html. thanks in advance.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

moved to flash - and I assume you posted this on
http://www.kirupaforum.com for help?