Flash MX - Loading and controlling movies in the main_mc.

• andrewmeda
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Loc: London

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello,

I am very new to actionsripting - been playing round with flash but never delving deeper... until now...

This pup needs some help with the following:-

1. Loading a series of movies at the beginning of the main_mc.

ie: movie_1.swf, movie_2.swf, movie_3.swf, and so on...
(so that the user does not have to wait for each .swf file to load - I would like to load ALL .swf files so they are ready to play immediately after eachother).

2. By using a 'nav bar', which will have 'next movie', 'previous movie' and 'pause', I would like to:-

A. Go to the next .swf file in order (ie. from 1 to 2, form 2 -3 etc...)
B. Go to the previous .swf file in order.
C. Pause the .swf file that is currently playing, and to play when the button is hit again. (pause/play function).

Please help this lost mutt!

Thanks.
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

##-CONTAINER CLIP-##

Create yourself a new empty mc [Insert > Symbol > MovieClip] and give it the name holderClip, press enter.

Next open your stage Library [Ctrl+L], find your empty mc and drag+drop to where you want the top left corner of you externaly loaded mc to be. Give your mc the instance name container.

Next create yourself a button of some sort and place the following code in the actions panel:

PHP Code: [ Select ]

on(release) {

_root.container.loadMovie("externalMovie.swf");

}

2. on(release) {
  4. _root.container.loadMovie("externalMovie.swf");
  6. }

That loads your movie.

If you want to control that external movie from your main movie, reference to is using the following syntax:

PHP Code: [ Select ]

_root.container._doSometing;

2. _root.container._doSometing;

##-PRELOADER-##

http://www.flashbax.com/flash_preloaders.htm
  • lostinbeta
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: Philadelphia, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago