form to mail script

• TINY
  • Born
  • Born
  • TINY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hey people, hopefully someone on here will be able to help me, this problem is probably very simple, but I'm a bit new to this and this has me completely stumped!

Ok I have created a flash site, and I wanted to incorporate a form on the site where user's can comment/email to me. So I have created the form etc, but now I can't get it to actually send an email to me.

I have looked on my hosting companies site and came accross this:

"When the form is submitted to sendmail.php, the contents of the email field in the form are inserted into a PHP variable called $email, and the contents of the message field are inserted into the variable $message. The script calls a special function called mail, which takes care of the actual dispatch. The first parameter to mail is the address to which you want the form contents sent, in this case your own email address. The second parameter is the subject of the email message, the third is the content of the message, and the fourth is the "From" header so that you know who the sender is, and can reply.

In order for the script to work, you need to specify, via a fifth -f parameter, the domain from which the mail is being sent. The PHP component uses SMTP (Simple Mail Transfer Protocol), and all StreamlineNet SMTP servers have filters which ensure that the data returned by either the first or fifth mail parameter relates to one of your domains hosted by StreamlineNet. The final part of the script thanks the visitor for the message. This is done by sending an HTTP header back to the visitor's browser telling it to load a file called thankyou.html from your domain. The /header/function allows you to send any HTTP header back to the browser.