How do you vary the x position?

• Adde
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Adde

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm a big noob, just wanna test doing a thing(a kinda mini-game) but i need to know one thing... i think of doing a mini-game when you have 3 persons and then you will press a button and the persons will change position with eachother... and then you shall guess who is who (the name of the persons is going to be said in start), However i want to know how to make a button that can make them change the x position
i mean so it wont be the same position of the persons everytime, so they variate... this is maybe kinda hard to understand but please help me... the x position i want it to variate by is 111, 232 and 434.

THANK YOU!
  • Adde
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Adde

Post 3+ Months Ago

ops... forgot to do [/color], sorry
  • joebert
  • Fart Bubbles
  • Genius
  • Loc: Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

Code: [ Select ]
xArray = [111,232,434];
buttonInstanceName.onPress = function(){
   r = random(20);
   for(i=0; i<r; i++){
     xArray.push(xArray[0]);
     xArray.shift();
   }
   person1._x = xArray[0];
   person2._x = xArray[1];
   person3._x = xArray[2];
}
  1. xArray = [111,232,434];
  2. buttonInstanceName.onPress = function(){
  3.    r = random(20);
  4.    for(i=0; i<r; i++){
  5.      xArray.push(xArray[0]);
  6.      xArray.shift();
  7.    }
  8.    person1._x = xArray[0];
  9.    person2._x = xArray[1];
  10.    person3._x = xArray[2];
  11. }

Now, for the line by line :D

xArray = [111,232,434];
^ This is an array that holds the numbers we are going to use as _x positions, one for every movieclip we want to move.

buttonInstanceName.onPress = function(){
^This is the instanceName of the button that you want to trigger this function, onPress is a dynamic event handeler, =function(){ is standard for saying that the next few lines of code are going to be grouped together and run onPress of buttonInstanceName.

r = random(20);