Hyperlinks in Flash MX2004

• dkcc0330
  • dkcc0330
  • Loc: Reno, NV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Is it possible to hyperlink a button/text/image/whatever to a specific frame in that same flash video? I'm a novice at this, so keep that in mind when you answer. Thanks.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

It's not really hyperlinking. You have to first convert your button image, text, or other image to a button symbol and give it an instance name, example: myBtn. Then you would use action script onRelease and gotoAndPlay or gotoAndStop

example

Code: [ Select ]
myBtn.onRelease = function() {  //where myBtn is the instance name of your button
  gotoAndPlay(2);  //where 2=frame number you want to go to. Alternatively you could do gotoAndStop(2);
};
  1. myBtn.onRelease = function() {  //where myBtn is the instance name of your button
  2.   gotoAndPlay(2);  //where 2=frame number you want to go to. Alternatively you could do gotoAndStop(2);
  3. };
  • dkcc0330
  • dkcc0330

Post 3+ Months Ago

Okay--Not only am I a novice, but I'm not too timely in my replies! At any rate the above AS,

"myBtn.onRelease = function() { //where myBtn is the instance name of your button
gotoAndPlay(2); //where 2=frame number you want to go to. Alternatively you could do gotoAndStop(2);
};" How and where do I insert it into my Flash movie? Like I said, I'm a newby to AS, so please be patient.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

On your stage click the button that you want to perform the action. Then open your actions panel and put the button in there.
  • dkcc0330
  • dkcc0330

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi--I've added the above AS (2.0 I presume?) in the Action Script pane for each button, but I'm getting the following errors and when I publish the movie, I get nothing when I click on each button: