Importing an image with a transparent background...

• civ
  • civ
  • Loc: minas morgul

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm a complete beginner at flash and i was wondering how i could bring an image into the program without a white background behind it. That is to say have the image itself there with a transparent background.

My initial plan was to take the image in adobe, use magic wand on it, reverse my selection so it's outlined, and then copy and paste. This worked except for the transparent background... help? Pretty please?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• joebert
  • Fart Bubbles
  • Genius
  • Loc: Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

Cut it out in photoshop & save as GIF with transparant background, then import to library in flash.
Leave 1px of padding around the edges in photoshop or part of the image will get cut off when it is imported. (flash is weird sometimes)

I'm pretty sure Ozzus search will yeild some more results on this subject :wink:
  • plumbum01
  • plumbum01

Post 3+ Months Ago

or you can save your image as png file. This variant is better when your image has a shadow...
  • digitalMedia
  • a.k.a. dM
  • Genius
  • Loc: SC-USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I be careful using PNG plumbum01. It's not universally supported...yet. I am pretty sure PNG is not a variant, but it's very own format. ;)
  • plumbum01
  • plumbum01

Post 3+ Months Ago

mhm...digitalMedia..I had a couple of mismathes with png, but when I wanted to do a shadow, this format was better than gif. So I use png when I need to do a shadow only. Otherwise gif rulz :)
  • joebert
  • Fart Bubbles
  • Genius

Post 3+ Months Ago

If You have the PNG then you should be able to leave out the shadow when exporting to GIF, then create the shadow(s) in Flash. :)

Leaves the shadows open for special FX :wink:
  • digitalMedia
  • a.k.a. dM
  • Genius

Post 3+ Months Ago

Agreed! :)