LoadVar Inquery

• janice_2k
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • janice_2k

Post 3+ Months Ago

Dear gurus/members,
I am very new in actionscript and programming. I would like to know whether is it possible to use loadVar() to load a txt file stored in user's computer. I created an application that is stored on user's computer. When user clicks on Flash button on my website, the actionscript will check the user's computer for the exe file. If exe does not exist, the actionscript will prompt a message to quest user download the application. Otherwise, the actionscript will run the application located on user's computer. The following is the basic idea I have. I wonder if it is possible for actionscript to use loadVar() to launch the exe/dll/ocx file. I would be very glad if someone could guide me with the codes in actionscript:

Code: [ Select ]
myLV = new LoadVars();
myLV.onLoad = function(success){
if (success){
    //If the exe file gets loaded, launch the application

} else {
    //If file fails to load, it displays pop up window,
    //requesting to download application.
    //getURL(""http://server:00/library/IEBSoundRecorder.exe"
  }

myLV.load("audioRecorder.exe"); // the exe file is stored on user's computer at C:/Program Files/IEBAudioRecorder/
  1. myLV = new LoadVars();
  2. myLV.onLoad = function(success){
  3. if (success){
  4.     //If the exe file gets loaded, launch the application
  5.   } else {
  6.     //If file fails to load, it displays pop up window,
  7.     //requesting to download application.
  8.     //getURL(""http://server:00/library/IEBSoundRecorder.exe"
  9.   }
  10. myLV.load("audioRecorder.exe"); // the exe file is stored on user's computer at C:/Program Files/IEBAudioRecorder/

Looking forward to some replies soon.

Thanks in advance,
Janice
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• lostinbeta
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: Philadelphia, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago