Navigation Issues

• nornholdj
  • Novice
  • Novice

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to Flash but I have a decent amount of experience in other languages (C++, C#, ect.) so I can understand most of the Actionscript in posts. I am using AS 3.0 and the CS3 version of Flash.

My current project that I'm working on is basically a full website made from a single Flash movie. I have MCs inside of MCs and basically my question is: Is there anyway that I can create an onClick event that will go to one frame in say my root movie then go to frame in a movie that is on that frame? The sub-MC only exists in that frame of the parent MC.

For example (in psuedocode):
Code: [ Select ]
root.gotoAndStop("frameWithSubMC");
subMC.gotoAndStop("targetFrame");
  1. root.gotoAndStop("frameWithSubMC");
  2. subMC.gotoAndStop("targetFrame");

Is that possible to do in the same frame?

Reasoning:
I have a basic menu in my root timeline that controls all user navigation. On another "page" (so to say, technically another frame), I have a MC that is a tab-like application(a series of tabs that display different info depending on which one is selected). I'd like to be able to send a user to a specific tab from the menu.

Thanks,

-Jordan

P.S. - I've been looking over this site for the last few days and I must say this is quite a nice site.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

This post contains a reply that might be close to what you want.
http://board.flashkit.com/board/showthread.php?t=444666

Scroll a few replies down for the one from pellepiano.
Quote:
This information had been useful to know.

Then each button sets a framelabel variable, ex

// Load action and this
_level0.whereToGo="galleryLabel";

and in the external swf beginning

gotoAndPlay(_level0.whereToGo);
  • nornholdj
  • Novice
  • Novice

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thanks for the quick reply.