I need a help with an AI problem

• ibrabdo
  • Novice
  • Novice

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm a cartoon designer and animator and lately I learn how to use the actionscript2 (unfortunately everyone is using actionscript3 now).

I'm making a flash game using actionscript2 about a guy who's running away from another guy (the player control the first one); I made the basic physics by doing the gravity and making the player {instance name: Man} jumps on objects, and about his movement on the X axis I made him stand still in the middle of the screen and the VelX of the player makes the background, the items and the collisions moving:

Code: [ Select ]
if(Key.isDown(Key.LEFT)){ VelX = -15; }
if(Key.isDown(Key.RIGHT)){ VelX =15; }
  1. if(Key.isDown(Key.LEFT)){ VelX = -15; }
  2. if(Key.isDown(Key.RIGHT)){ VelX =15; }

Then I made the items and the objects create randomly.
And after that I started to do the guy who follows the player {instance name: BadMan} by giving him the VelX of the player to keep his position in the background (VelX1) plus his velocity (VelX2) multiplied the direction to let him follow the player (dir)(dir is 1 or -1):

VelX1 = - _root.Man.VelX;
VelX2 = 5 * dir;
PosX += (VelX1 + VelX2);
  1. VelX1 = - _root.Man.VelX;
  2. VelX2 = 5 * dir;
  3. PosX += (VelX1 + VelX2);

With that I made the badman follow the player on the X axis.
And in the end I started to face the big problem: how the badman gonna follow the player when he jumps (Y axis), knowing that the objects are on many levels and they created randomly without a stable _X (because it’s moving by the VelX of the player when we changing his direction).