Problem mixing Flash/DHTML menu

• gohitech
  • Born
  • Born
  • gohitech

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello,
My I have a DHTML menu for my website and a flash image right under it.
When I click on DHTML menu, I cant see the sub menues becasue it appears that they go under the flash image.
However If i use .jpg or .gif files it is fine but I dont want to use them. I want to use flash.
I am kind of new to this stuff. I am an old time programmer and still new to web.

Please help me out.
check out the site and you see what I mean
http://www.gohitech.com/xyz.htm

thanks
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• lostinbeta
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: Philadelphia, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yes, this is a common issue with Flash. When embedding a Flash movie into an HTML page the embed code automatically puts the Flash movie on top of everything else.

Solution: None that I know of.

Possible Solution: Put the menu in 1 div tag and put the flash movie in another div tag, then set the z-index of those div tags so that the menu is above the flash one. I don't think this will work, but I also have never tried it either.

[edit]
possible solution 2: combine both the navigation and the animation into 1 flash movie with the navigation on layers above the animation (or load it in dynamically via loadMovie() or loadMovieNum())
[/edit]
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

You might try this, and it is only a suggestion based on what I know about z-index. (I've used in it code before, but only prewritten code which I modified)

z-index prioritizes what appears on "top" when objects are layered. It's my recolection that the higher the z-index number the higher it is layered. However, z-index only works with items that are positioned (absolute or relative). So you may need to position your flash object and give it a z-index of say 1, then position your DHTML menu with a z-index of 2.