.swf or .flv?

• vediason
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • vediason

Post 3+ Months Ago

Not long ago I stumbled upon //link removed due to excessive spam. Everything goes well except I still can't figure out the difference between .swf and .flv, which are the output formats it can convert to. Since I am new to flash, I'm really puzzled. They are both flash formats. But how can I tell them apart?
Any help will be appreciated a lot!
Thanks in advance!
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• dhonsvick
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • dhonsvick

Post 3+ Months Ago

FLV is an Encoded Video Format - But can not be interacted with once it is encoded. a SWF file is still in a standard Flash format..... Now here is why you are confused.

What has happened here is they can out put the Video... (FLV) embedded in a flash movie for you ... the SWF has a video player built into it and the embeddd the FLV into the SWF file. The SWF file is ready to go if you wanted to put it on a webpage.....

The FLV will need to be called from a video player and can not be directly played from a web page. You would want to use the FLV if you had already made your own Flash Video Player or if your uploading to a site that does. But the FLV can not be played by itself on the web.....the SWF can.
  • vediason
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • vediason

Post 3+ Months Ago

dhonsvick wrote:
FLV is an Encoded Video Format - But can not be interacted with once it is encoded. a SWF file is still in a standard Flash format..... Now here is why you are confused.

What has happened here is they can out put the Video... (FLV) embedded in a flash movie for you ... the SWF has a video player built into it and the embeddd the FLV into the SWF file. The SWF file is ready to go if you wanted to put it on a webpage.....