Getting email not even addressed to me ?

  • joebert
  • Sledgehammer
  • Genius
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Feb 10, 2004
  • Posts: 13455
  • Loc: Florida
  • Status: Offline

Post March 16th, 2009, 8:47 am

I'm not an expert when it comes to email headers, but I just got an odd email asking me to confirm a subscription to an RSS feed that doesn't appear to even be addressed to me. :scratchhead:

Quote:
Delivered-To: <my_address>
Received: by 10.100.122.14 with SMTP id u14cs122810anc; Mon, 16 Mar 2009
08:38:35 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.150.156.20 with SMTP id d20mr8750935ybe.102.1237217914898;
Mon, 16 Mar 2009 08:38:34 -0700 (PDT)
Return-path: <adds.pakistan@gmail.com>
Received: from server.evirtualservers.net (server.evirtualservers.net
[38.100.22.171]) by mx.google.com with ESMTP id
10si3759591gxk.108.2009.03.16.08.38.32; Mon, 16 Mar 2009 08:38:34 -0700 (PDT)
Received-SPF: neutral (google.com: 38.100.22.171 is neither permitted nor denied by domain of adds.pakistan@gmail.com) client-ip=38.100.22.171;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=neutral (google.com: 38.100.22.171 is neither permitted nor denied by domain of adds.pakistan@gmail.com) smtp.mail=adds.pakistan@gmail.com
Message-ID: <49be727a.0a0bca0a.74c8.ffff8e88SMTPIN_ADDED@mx.google.com>
Received: from [127.0.0.1] (port=56681 helo=T00707034) by
server.evirtualservers.net with esmtpa (Exim 4.69) (envelope-from
<adds.pakistan@gmail.com>) id 1LjEtQ-0000rE-Eq; Mon, 16 Mar 2009 11:38:22
-0400
Received: from T00707034 ([202.61.61.249] helo=T00707034) by
ASSP.at.server.evirtualservers.net; 16 Mar 2009 11:37:58 -0400
From: "Adds Pakistan" <adds.pakistan@gmail.com>
To: "HLS Network" <mail@hlsnetwork.net>
Subject: Activate feedburner subscription
Sender: "Adds Pakistan" <adds.pakistan@gmail.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Date: Mon, 16 Mar 2009 11:37:55 -0400
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="boundary022CE58D_alternative"
X-Priority: 3
Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: MailList King 7.1.0.307
X-Assp-Whitelisted: Yes
X-Assp-Envelope-From: adds.pakistan@gmail.com
X-Assp-Intended-For: mps@brain.net.pk
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - server.evirtualservers.net
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - gmail.com
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [47 12] / [47 12]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - gmail.com
Strong with this one, the sudo is.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2008
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post March 16th, 2009, 8:47 am

  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Joined: May 28, 2003
  • Posts: 23404
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA
  • Status: Offline

Post March 16th, 2009, 8:55 am

Looks like the primary address was mail@hlsnetwork.net but I'm guessing they used a BCC to send it to probably countless others.
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 except for ::1."
Alexandria Networks. Leader in IT consulting for associations/non-profits, and small to medium sized businesses around the northern Virginia and Washington D.C. metro area.
  • joebert
  • Sledgehammer
  • Genius
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Feb 10, 2004
  • Posts: 13455
  • Loc: Florida
  • Status: Offline

Post March 16th, 2009, 9:09 am

Oh yeah, I forgot about BCCs. Makes sense now. :)
Strong with this one, the sudo is.
  • George L.
  • Bronze Member
  • Bronze Member
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Nov 05, 2007
  • Posts: 2206
  • Loc: Malaysia
  • Status: Offline

Post March 17th, 2009, 10:48 am

The source host name is "static-host202-61-61-249.link.net.pk" and the source IP address is 202.61.61.249.

Country Pakistan
State/Region 08
City Islamabad
Postal Code
Latitude 33.7
Longitude 73.1667

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 4 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 166 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
cron
 

© 2011 Unmelted, LLC. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.