How can I...?

• Alan Lastufka
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: ChicagoLand, IL, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am currently a full-time college student for Graphic Design. However, because of the imaturity of some of my fellow classmates, our FTP access has been turned off by the admins. But I do a lot of freelancing work and NEED to FTP when I NEED to FTP . Because the teachers disagree with the school's decision, they allow me to use their instructor machines (which retain FTP access) when there is time in class. But there is not always time when I need it.

Is there a workaround to this? A way that I can FTP *my* files to *my* server from class? Or any other place that I can park files so someone (say a client) could view them active on-line? As of lately, I've been sending the .zip folders containing all the images folders and html pages to view their sites locally, but rerouting all the links is becoming a pain in the arse...

I'm not looking to 'break' what the admins have done, but I need some way to go live with pages in the middle of class. Any ideas?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• b_heyer
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

you can use a php uploading script, I'd imagine that'd get by the system just fine.

I think that the decision made to block ftp access is idiotic. What is your major?
  • rjstephens
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: Brisbane, Australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

if your server space uses the cpanel control panel software you should already have a file uploading tool. try that before installing a php upload script. Both of them are web-based upload scripts and if one works chances are the other will too.

But I think that there is a good chance that the firewall you are behind will block HTTP packets that are going the other way if it thinks they do not contain anything other than a request for information.
  • digitalMedia
  • a.k.a. dM
  • Genius