How do I NOT get my website stolen ?

• Lgame
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Lgame

Post 3+ Months Ago

I just purchased my web host package and domain name and received the customer id # and password. Now i am about to get the web design started and the person working on it wants my customer id and password to my account to do work on it. Can my website be stolen from me if i give him the information?

thank you
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Bogey
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Bogey
  • Loc: USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

If the programmer is not trustworthy he can... all he has to do is change the password.

But if you trust him/her and/or if there is a contract and if the programmer is well known, you shouldn't have a problem. The only thing I don't understand is why he/she needs the costumer id #, but that's probably because I'm a novice in this field. I'm not the best source for this :lol:
  • joebert
  • Fart Bubbles
  • Genius
  • Loc: Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

If you do not have another set of credentials that have a higher authority than the credentials someone wants, do not give them the credentials they request.

Newer designers/developers will often ask for your credentials so they can bypass checks and balances & get their job done quicker so they can get paid. It sounds like a good idea at first but speaking from experience, I wouldn't even give my own mother my most authorative credentials.

What you need to do is setup an FTP account for them with their name on it & their own password. They can make any file alterations they will need to make with this. It is essential that you create a site backup before giving them these details & make sure this backup is excluded from garbage collection or accidental deletion untill this person has produced something trustworthy enough for you to create another trusted backup with. Keep backups on a different system than the website is on.