How do people pay you ?

• tastysite
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: Brighouse, West Yorkshire, England

Post 3+ Months Ago

I was thinking how if you are a freelance web designer do people pay you for what you have done?
I have people paying by check and bringing in the money by hand? IS this what most people do or what? :?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• SB
  • Genius
  • Loc: Aberdeen, Scotland

Post 3+ Months Ago

I won't lie, but i find payment by cheque as an outdated form of payment. Personally i'd be more keen on introducing the option to pay through Paypal (assuming the employer uses it themself) or other forms of direct payment.

By all means, nothing wrong with cheques. I would be unwilling to use it as a form of payment, but then i'm not a freelance designer and have never required payment for anything.
  • joebert
  • Fart Bubbles
  • Genius
  • Loc: Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

Money in hand gives you a chance to strengthen relationships that could use reenforcement.

Other than that, I'm with SB about Paypal. They make it really easy.
  • tastysite
  • Proficient
  • Proficient

Post 3+ Months Ago

I thought about paypal but I was not sure how easy it would be to do its never the same amount of money twice. And don't paypal take some kind of % as payment? I don't know I don't use it much im not that big on ebay.
  • joebert
  • Fart Bubbles
  • Genius

Post 3+ Months Ago

A lot of people use Paypal & all those people have to do is send funds to your account through their browser at Paypal.com
For those without a Paypal account, they can also pay with a credit card if you take <5 minutes to generate a payment link for them.
I believe there's also an invoice system that will make it easy to email an invoice to your clients.

I don't pay much attention to what the fees are exactly, but I do a good deal of $21 USD transactions and the fee on those is roughly a dollar.