personal computer server

  • twmspro
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 591
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

i need some info on how to make my pc a server
and also the urls to give it a name and such would really appreciate it
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • twmspro
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 591
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

also
i will be making a forum
for an alliance for a game called kings of chaos
  • BlueHat
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 589
  • Loc: Cyprus

Post 3+ Months Ago

twmspro wrote:
i need some info on how to make my pc a server
and also the urls to give it a name and such would really appreciate it


Install window 2003 or 2000 server or any os system that can act as a server.
i am not sure what do u mean.
  • twmspro
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 591
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

windows server is NOT an option since my hdd is only 9 GB
(sadly)
i mean something like apache
i dont understand apache thats why i don't have it
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6376
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

why do all that, when you can just use windows 2000 or Xp and
simply fileshare across a workgroup? simple, and effective, and
efficient.

simple is better. ;)
  • Vladdrac
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2136
  • Loc: Louisville, Ky

Post 3+ Months Ago

yeah I don't think you are going to be able to run anykind of server os with 9gb. At least not Microsoft, Linux, nor Novell
  • David
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • David
  • Posts: 165

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi there,

I've once used my laptop with a 512k connection to share files and folders...

I currently use: Windows XP Pro, also a bit of linux! :P

Well if you have you're XP disc, or that you're sure its installed.. You can go to add/remove compoments...something in there like HTTP services you need to install all of those...

And then you'll can access the main part of the server.. by: Control Panel in XP and them Adminitrative Tools, then Some internet thing in there...

Also then you'll get a folder, look for root: and you'll be putting files into there...

Well, then you've got you're server...

If you're on a home network you can access: http://localhost <-- I'm sure you can change that somewhere in those Administrative Settings. :D

Well, i hope i gave enough info, having being i've done this around about half a year ago, and my age of 13.

Hope it works for who ever...

David :)

If you want help on msn: david2093@msn.com

I'l be more than happy to help you..
  • ssj4trunks09
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 33
  • Loc: Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

Pretty smart for a 13 year old, or 14...I'm 14 and that didn't come across my head.
  • twmspro
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 591
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

anyway i went a seperate way and got xitami web server

all i need to know if how to program a php forum and also how to set it up so when i go to my dyndns.org site it doesn't come up with my router

thats pretty much all i need
  • Daemonguy
  • Moderator
  • Web Master
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2700
  • Loc: Somewhere outside the box in Sarasota, FL.

Post 3+ Months Ago

Pity. Could have easily used your old machine with say FreeBSD or the Linux du jour; loaded samba -- is the unix SMB service -- and still connected via Windows shares.

Should you have needed to, you could also have run an internal web server.

Cheers.
  • twmspro
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 591
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

um
what does that have to do with anything?
  • Cae
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 734

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
how to program a php forum


just go to http://www.phpbb.com, they have a pretty good free forum package, along with many mods/themes/etc... its what i use on my sites, and is also whats used here on ozzu...
  • Vladdrac
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2136
  • Loc: Louisville, Ky

Post 3+ Months Ago

i think he means installing php on his server
  • twmspro
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 591
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

i think i pretty much got if from other posts on ozzu
thanks anyway!

actually compaired to you guys im a total amiture

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 14 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.