Riots

• SB
  • Genius
  • Loc: Aberdeen, Scotland

Post 3+ Months Ago

You may or may not have heard about rioting around several cities in UK over the last couple of days. It started off in London and last night spread to other large cities in England.

I started to think last night what the meaning behind all this was as there was no real motive. People were doing it for no apparent reason. I saw a blog on Tumblr created by someone in Birmingham, a city that last night became victim to the riots, and the blogger left a blog which more or less summed up exactly how i felt about the whole situation.

Quote:
It’s easy to dismiss the rioters as “scum with nothing better to do” but there are much deeper problems here. As a young, male, ethnic minority in the inner city myself, chances are, I probably know some of these people. I can relate to the feelings of helplessness. I’ve been fortunate enough to be successful as a musician myself and been able to create my own positive future, but these kids rioting don’t see themselves having a future at all. They have been failed by society as a whole, they’ve been failed by the government cutting arts funding and closing youth centres, unemployment is rife to the point where even the ones desperately trying to seek work simply can’t find it, and the boiling point to all this (Mark Duggan events) is a situation that is VERY REAL. I myself have been stopped and searched many times by police for no given reason. They raided my apartment at 6.30 in the morning once while my wife and I were asleep claiming they’d had reports of a disturbance. I’ve been questioned for gang activity that I had no part of, because of how I look and where I come from. It’s simple racial profiling, and whilst that is NOT an excuse for the behaviours of rioters, the sad fact is that it happens.