Think this is a scam?

  • poly
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Jul 31, 2004
  • Posts: 796
  • Loc: Same place you left me.
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 8:52 am

Hey guys, i just found this site http://www.clearoutclub.com/home.aspx and i was wondering if you guys thought it was a scam? I have seen deals this good before, like this laptop,

2.4GHz AMD Athlon 64 3700, 15.4” WXGA Display, 512MB DDR333 SDRAM, 60GB HD, DVDRW/CDRW Drive, 64MB DDR nVIDIA GeForce4 440 Go, WiFi

its in the middle top row of laptops, for $493. My dad got this same laptop from compusa for $500 which is half off. Im thinking about getting a membership. The memberships are $20 till 12 today. For 20 if it isnt real, its no big loss, but if it is not a scam that would be some pretty good savings. What do you guys think?

poly
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2008
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post December 21st, 2004, 8:52 am

  • GSlinger
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Oct 21, 2004
  • Posts: 384
  • Loc: Ohio
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 9:02 am

some places buy a large amount of something and get deals. im not sure about the place you linked to though.
http://www.bensbargains.net/
this place buys bulk and has some pretty good deals. one of my professors told me about it.
  • lucassix
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Sep 13, 2004
  • Posts: 2335
  • Loc: Living in a VAN DOWN BY THE RIVER!
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 9:11 am

I think it is a scam.
~Their "Contact Us" page has no physical address, mailing address, or tel number.
~The SECURE PAYMENT FORM is not even encrypted.
~You are not paying for any merchandise from them, they are just supposed to be providing listings to you for other companys.

Use froogle instead for free.
  • poly
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Jul 31, 2004
  • Posts: 796
  • Loc: Same place you left me.
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 9:36 am

Offically busted. This is a scam.
Virtual Technologies
John Wilson
3540 N Southport Ave
Chicago, 60657
US
Phone: +1.7736659844
Fax..: +1.7736659867
Email: vtech@email.com

even if this person truely did purchase the domain and lives here, it has only been purchased since nov. 7 2004. On the website, it says they have had over 10 years of experience.(this is BS unless they have an actual store. I sent them an email and asked if they have an actual store.) So unless somebody has any reason to object, i think this is a scam.

poly
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Joined: May 28, 2003
  • Posts: 22498
  • Loc: Pittsburgh PA
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 9:47 am

This is owned by Virtual Technologies. The same guy that owns this, also owns isaveclub.com:

http://forums.pimprig.com/archive/topic/21214.html (looks like a little deja vu to me)

Look familiar?
http://www.isaveclub.com/

Note the creation date on clearoutclub
http://www.bargainshare.com/lofiversion ... 48027.html
Nov 7 2004. One month old. Hmmmmmm..... And note the similarity of the question.

It gets better:
http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=7118&wrapper=
http://bigbruin.com/forum/archive/o_t__ ... b.com.html

This is the beauty of the internet folks. A little simple research that took me all of five minutes can save you a bunch of grief

Cheers
"The web is a dominatrix. Every where I turn, I see little buttons ordering me to Submit."
Play sports pools and discuss sports topics at Boasting Rights Sports Forum
Get paid to write articles - www.associatedcontent.com
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Dec 20, 2002
  • Posts: 6396
  • Loc: unflux.net
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 9:50 am

A wise man once said: "There is no such thing as a good deal."
UNFLUX.net Hosting | Foto
Quality Web Hosting
  • TomK
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Oct 13, 2004
  • Posts: 815
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 9:54 am

UNFLUX wrote:
A wise man once said: "There is no such thing as a good deal."


Another wise man once said: "If it looks to good to be true, it probaly is."
NFL Draft Dirt - NFL Draft blog featuring mock drafts, analysis, and news.
Host Gator - 99.9% uptime guarantee, 24/7 live support, best features on the net.
  • GSlinger
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Oct 21, 2004
  • Posts: 384
  • Loc: Ohio
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 10:00 am

then i am not a wise man for i have bought things from stores like that. lol
  • poly
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Jul 31, 2004
  • Posts: 796
  • Loc: Same place you left me.
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 10:02 am

i just dialed the phone number provided and it gives you the anoying beep and tells you the phone number is no longer inservice. Obvious fraud.

poly

//GSlinger did you ever recieve the products you ordered?
  • GSlinger
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Oct 21, 2004
  • Posts: 384
  • Loc: Ohio
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 10:04 am

yeah
once i ordered 2 switches and a router for like 40 bucks each. good netgear switches (48 port, most other places wanted around 250 dollars for the two i got two for 80) and a decent router (forget the details). they all came and within 2 days. the instructions and the printing on the box was chinese or something but the interface was english and they both worked fine and still do.
  • poly
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Jul 31, 2004
  • Posts: 796
  • Loc: Same place you left me.
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 10:13 am

where did you order them from?

poly
  • GSlinger
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Oct 21, 2004
  • Posts: 384
  • Loc: Ohio
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 10:16 am

i think it was the place i linked to above
http://www.bensbargains.net/
it was a while ago though
probably like 6-7-8 months i think
im not even sure if it was that place or not. it was for an Elementary school i work for. my professor wanted to show them that they werent giving us enough budget so we bought em from a place that we thought would screw us.... so far they havent lol
  • Smokenjoe
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Apr 09, 2004
  • Posts: 1559
  • Loc: Amarillo, Tx
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 11:59 am

Funny how that works eh? The one time you need someone to screw you they end up being legit. Sheesh. :)
For all your engineering related inquiries:
http://www.eng-tips.com/index.cfm
  • Jako
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: Oct 30, 2003
  • Posts: 227
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 1:20 pm

http://www.bensbargains.net/ seems to be legit, they just tell you stores and sites that are offering deals and then redirect you to the site, such as that computer chair that is being sold by Best Buy...
  • L-Man
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • User avatar
  • Joined: Oct 04, 2004
  • Posts: 32
  • Loc: Poland
  • Status: Offline

Post December 21st, 2004, 2:25 pm

Nope, I'm not buying it. It's a scam
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2008
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post December 21st, 2004, 2:25 pm

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 17 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 94 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© Unmelted Enterprises 1998-2009. Driven by phpBB © 2001-2009 phpBB Group.