What happened to the promised land?

• david murphy
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • david murphy

Post 3+ Months Ago

It's been a while since I have logged on and I was open to input on where are the IT positions? I graduated in 2007 with an associates degree from a trade school with a 97% job placement record. I am one of the 3%. I also graduated top of the school over medical, administration, legal, crimal justice, information technology, and the school's primary business class.
My first IT position I got was through a friend at a bar. The job was networking/everything except software. One night we were celebrating my friend's birthday and we were drinking heavily and I watched my boss/owner of the business smoke crack out of a budwieser beer can. I didn't smoke crack, but I did sniff some lines. Within a month I was let go, due to a "lack of business". I was jobless with a new habit and thats when unemployment kicked in. I collected for 93 weeks. It wasn't that I didn't look for work as much as no one was forcing me to find it. Coke lasted for nine long months before it almost killed me.
DO NOT GET AN IT JOB IN A BAR!!!
I've been working at my friends pizza place ever since, I still look for work and use the schools job search and cant find anything. The prerequisite in this area is 3-5 years experience for any position in the field.
Is my associates degree worth anything or did I miss the window(sorry apple fans) of opportunity. If it is shot can I tell the studet loan company that my degree is worthless and I won't be sending them any more money?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• grinch2171
  • Genius
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago