Why are you doing IT work?

• Carnix
  • Guru
  • Guru

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm just curious... I find it interesting to hear the various stories. Some people are totally self-taught, others spent years learning stuff in school, other are old enough to remember when universities didn't even have internet access I bet.

Anyway, just post your story here (as brief or detailed as you feel comfortable, of course). I'll start:

I've always been a computer enthusiast since my dad first bought that TI machine (with the cartriges and tapes... heh I loved Hunt the Wampus and Parsec... heh). But my father was deathly afraid of "The Internet" He though that just by connecting, a hacker would be able to put viruses in our computer (by this time, we had, I think, a nice top-of-the-line Compuad 286), steal every scrap of data, including deposit slips from his checkbook and maybe even the cat... Needless to say, we didn't have a modem.

My first REAL experience with the Internet was when I went to college (Washington State University) and encountered Mosaic... I was so inexperienced, I actually thought if I saved a webpage, I could overwrite the person's work online. silly me.

I had already decided I would major in Envrionmental Science (and eventually minored in Economics). However, when I was a sophomore, I took a job with the Student Advising and Learning Center teaching a learning through technology course that required I help the students learn this thing called HTML... I learned it easily, of course, cause it's...well easy.