Embedded Youtube Videos Remove Ads Overlay

• devilwood
  • Silver Member
  • Silver Member

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have zero experience with this. I've actually always just used a custom video player on my sites and just hosted my own videos in a folder on my webserver. Then, in maybe 2005 another web developer called me stupid for not streaming from youtube. His advantages seemed to trump anything reasons I had for using the custom player. I mean optimization and bandwidth are still concerns. Well, he made me feel like I was cheating my customers by using up their bandwidth and causing their stream not be optimized not to mention all the SEO misses. I still just said if my customer wants youtube then he can just upload the same videos to youtube as well. The issue as a whole was still not a big deal to me. I thought either one would work but still couldn't find many arguments for NOT using youtube. Well, yesterday I hit a big problem especially for using youtube for a small business. The problem is Google is a advertising cash cow. For all their successful projects they likely have 2 that fail. They stay afloat from online advertising. So, it came as no surprise that I really feel that there isn't a solution because Google 1. just doesn't care 2. this is the nature of the beast.