Building your own computer

• SB
  • Genius
  • Loc: Aberdeen, Scotland

Post 3+ Months Ago

I've always wanted to build my own desktop computer but never really knew how i would go about doing this. As i've grown older i've grown in confidence and my determination to build a machine is greater than ever now.

I received an email from a reputable computer hardware website which i had used before to buy my external hard drive several years ago and they had on sale a case complete with washable front air filter. After seeing this i decided that i'd love to go an invest in this (or something similar) and go ahead and build my first desktop computer.

As i am new to this i am a bit uncertain as to what i would really need to look for when building a machine. I don't know how important the actual case is to the overall design and whether buying a case will ultimately determine how far the computer goes in terms of power or practicality.

For those of you experienced in this, could anyone give me an idea of what i should be focusing on, whether it is the motherboard, RAM, graphics or whatever. What do you think i should know about this before i start? Any advice on motherboards/RAM/graphics cards i should get? what about OS? I quite like the idea of having Windows 7, however i may just hold out for Windows 8 when it has been released, so what hardware requirements would be ideal for the proposed features of Windows 8?

Any tips and advice would be greatly appreciated.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago