Can't connect to internet..

  • robert78.5
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • robert78.5
  • Posts: 147
  • Loc: Manitoba

Post 3+ Months Ago

I unplugged my G router to rearrange wiring. Now my laptop won't hook to internet. The wireless green box says full strength on bottom right corner of screen.But when i click on Internet Explorer it won,t connect to internet. My main computer will connect to internet so the modem is working. Is there something i have toi reset in laptop?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Run ipconfig /all from a command prompt & post the output.
  • robert78.5
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • robert78.5
  • Posts: 147
  • Loc: Manitoba

Post 3+ Months Ago

Windows 2000 IP Configuration
Host Name................: robert-ot#######
Primary DNS Suffix.......:
Node Type................: Broadcast
IP routing enabled.......: No
Wins Proxy Enabled.......: No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media Status..............: Cable Disconnected
Description...............: Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network connection
Physical Address..........:00-D0-59-CE-B8-6D

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix ..:
Description......................:Siemens Gigaset PC Card 54
Physical address.................:00-01-E3-46-34-BD
DHCP enabled.....................: Yes
Autoconfiguration enabled........:Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address.....:169.254.206.176
Subnet Mask......................:255.255.0.0
Default Gateway..................:
DNS Servers......................:
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23456
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Make sure Radio is enabled on your laptop.
You aren't showing a wireless adapter, and since your Local Area Connection isn't connected with a hardwire, it's not obtaining an IP address from the router.

Was your laptop using an ethernet cable before? If it was, it isn't connected now.
  • robert78.5
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • robert78.5
  • Posts: 147
  • Loc: Manitoba

Post 3+ Months Ago

No it was not on a cable, it was always on wifi.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23456
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hmmm... The Ethernet Local Area Connection threw me off on the Siemens Gigaset PC Card 54. I assumed it was hardwired because that's normally what Local Area Connections are. Normally your wireless connection would say Ethernet Adapter Wireless Network Connection.

Bottom line is your Siemens card is not getting an IP address from the router. Did you check to see if your Radio inadvertently got disable on your notebook?

Have you shut down your Notebook, router and modem? Then turned them on starting with the modem, then the router, then the notebook?
  • robert78.5
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • robert78.5
  • Posts: 147
  • Loc: Manitoba

Post 3+ Months Ago

I will try tonight and let you know. Thanks
  • DarkSoulEdge
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • DarkSoulEdge
  • Posts: 5

Post 3+ Months Ago

robert78.5 wrote:
I unplugged my G router to rearrange wiring. Now my laptop won't hook to internet. The wireless green box says full strength on bottom right corner of screen.But when i click on Internet Explorer it won,t connect to internet. My main computer will connect to internet so the modem is working. Is there something i have toi reset in laptop?


Sounds like your laptop is physically connected to the network. Are you by any chance getting this message at the bottom right of your screen?

"This connection has limited or no connectivity. You may not be able to access the internet or some network resources."

If you can mind posting what your wireless adapter is displaying? Like the signal strength and all of that?

Prnt Scrn and then open up paint. Save it and upload it :D.
  • robert78.5
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • robert78.5
  • Posts: 147
  • Loc: Manitoba

Post 3+ Months Ago

I do a scan for wireless networks and find mine. I connect to it and get full strength. When i click on explorer it says it can't find network. I cannot print and upload as it is not on the internet. I am posting these from my desk top computer.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Run ipconfig /all again, when you "connect". It has to show there if the connection is made.
  • robert78.5
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • robert78.5
  • Posts: 147
  • Loc: Manitoba

Post 3+ Months Ago

The wireless connection shows full bars and is green. That tells me that the wireless is working.
When i click on Explorer it tells me The page cannot be displayed. Please try the following. Refresh, Check connections, Detect connections. All in about four paragraghs.
At the bottom of screen it says,,,
"Cannot find server or DNS error
Internet Explorer"
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

If it can't find the DNS, try using the ISP's DNS. Run ipconfig /all again & post it.

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 12 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.