Can not format hard drive

  • robert78.5
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • robert78.5
  • Posts: 149
  • Loc: Manitoba

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have 2 internal hard drives C + D. C is where all programs are. Computer has slowed so much now it is hardly usable as i stated in my other post. I tried to do a format on C, but it won't let me as it says there are programs running. Is there a way around this? I have tried running AVG but only finds a few tracking cookies.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

First of all, you can't format C: from C: You need a boot disk to format it or connect the drive to another PC.

Secondly, I don't think you have to hard drives. You have 1 hard drives with 2 partitions.
  • robert78.5
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • robert78.5
  • Posts: 149
  • Loc: Manitoba

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thats interesting, how can i take the partition out? C is showing almost 90% full and D shows about 40 % full. When i run a program like Nero it is running at 100% CPU Usuage. Would a larger hard drive help this situation?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

A larger drive isn't going to help the cpu time. There could be a swap problem. How much memory does the machine have? How big is the HD?
  • robert78.5
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • robert78.5
  • Posts: 149
  • Loc: Manitoba

Post 3+ Months Ago

It came with 2, 256 sticks , I changed them up to 2, 512 sticks.
The hard drives show as having 35GB's each. Probably too small for tadays programs.
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

just alittle bit. WOW 35GB i am guessing that computer is at least 10 to 15 years old!!!!
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

the reason why nero is running at 100% is mostly because of the age of the computer.
  • robert78.5
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • robert78.5
  • Posts: 149
  • Loc: Manitoba

Post 3+ Months Ago

Tiger Direct has a deal on a Bare Bones rebiuld kit. Is it a good thing to do or should i just get a new tower?
  • demonmaestro
  • Gold Member
  • Gold Member
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 679
  • Loc: Conroe, Texas

Post 3+ Months Ago

well thats your call and how much you are willing to spend. :puke on tiger direct.. sorry its pesonal lol

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 9 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
cron
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.