Cannot get IP address while connecting through router

  • newbie_2005
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • newbie_2005
  • Posts: 5

Post 3+ Months Ago

A router distributes my broadband conectn to three systems. Two systems are working fine, but the third one isnt getting an IP address from the router. The ipconfig isnt giving any results for the Gateway, while the LED is on at the router.

Im using windows XP.

Do you think reloading windows is the only solution???

BTW my ISP told me to put the TCP/Ip on obtain IP address automatically.
:cry:
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • theak
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 438
  • Loc: Taipei, Taiwan

Post 3+ Months Ago

Your ISP seems to have the right idea. Have you tried it? If that doesn't work try setting a statc ip address and setting the router to accept that.
  • newbie_2005
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • newbie_2005
  • Posts: 5

Post 3+ Months Ago

you think re-installing would even solve my other problem - Whenever i install a new software, the s/w doesnt load for about 10 mins, but later it starts. THis has been the case ever since i formatted the drive.

Ill give it a shot though.

thanks for replying monkey :D
  • newbie_2005
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • newbie_2005
  • Posts: 5

Post 3+ Months Ago

it didnt work... what the ^#@%^% is wrong with my computer?
  • sandman6471
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • sandman6471
  • Posts: 187
  • Loc: In My Dreams

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm not sure about this just an idea. Try replacing the CAT5 cable on the third system it could possibly have a short in it.

Good Luck...
Helping is Learning :)
  • player
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 34

Post 3+ Months Ago

I would try doing the same thing Sandman suggested. Remember XP has a "built in" router system so it could be your cabling. Make sure your cable connectors are good as well, change/ switch them around.
  • newbie_2005
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • newbie_2005
  • Posts: 5

Post 3+ Months Ago

you guyz were rite! the cable went kaput... and all this while i was frowning at my ISP... i pity the custmr servic guyz at the ISP..

thanks..
  • sandman6471
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • sandman6471
  • Posts: 187
  • Loc: In My Dreams

Post 3+ Months Ago

Cool, I'm glad it's working for you.

Keep Safe :D

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 8 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.