computer shutting down when playing a game

  • Lost^Angel
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Lost^Angel
  • Posts: 18

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello Friends,

I got a problem in my computer, always shutting down when i playing a game, after that when i try to turn on my computer again, my computer does not turn on anymore. :(

my computer will be turn on , if i take off all the cable, and wait as long as 10 minute after i take off the cable computer. :o

the first time i think my computer has been infected by sasser virus , but i'am already know that sasser not affected for Win 98 SE. :shock:

so, anybody can help me ? :(

and this is specification of my computer.
- AMD DURON , 1,3
- 512 MB Memory card
- 4 hardisk , ( 80 GB for each hardisk )




Thank you for your help.
:wink:

Ambri
Indonesian
  • bigcheeez
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • bigcheeez
  • Posts: 243

Post 3+ Months Ago

How old is the computer? If it won't physically power on then you could have a bad power supply. Does the fan in the ps turn on?
  • Foxy
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1038
  • Loc: places..

Post 3+ Months Ago

its not good to manually turn off the power.. like that, windows saves data onto the Hard drive when you shut it down... forcivly turning it off can damage that (why at startup it says checking hard drive for problems) and in long run can start to cause you problems, like maybe at a very long time stop working... shutting down every so while for no reason...


or Your power supply is messed up, or your comp is on its last breath and about to die...

Does bios start up?
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23460
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Other questions:

How are you supporting 4 hard drives? Are 2 external, via USB?
If 2 are external are the games you are running that cause your shutdown problem on either of those?

When you remove the cable, are you talking about the power cable? If so, by waiting the ten minutes are so, is allowing any residual memory in RAM to be cleared out. This could point to a possible RAM problem.

This is probably something hardware related, but not sure. I'll wait a bit before moving it and see, but chances are this should probably belong in the hardware forum.

Couple other .When you say the computer is shutting down does it just shut down immediately on it's own? or does it just freeze everything and you have to turn it off manually to get it to do anything? Also is it always the same game, or different ones?
  • Smokenjoe
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1573
  • Loc: Anchorage, AK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yeah, we need a little more info on this subject, but my first thoughts were RAM over-loads and Overheating. Also, a bad powersupply is possible, but I dont see how waiting 10 minutes could cause a short or overheat in the power supply to be resolved. Also, depending on what game you are playing, and how many TSRs your running in the background, theres no telling how much stuff is having to pass through the RAM. Yeah......... with that though, I'm putting my money on the RAM.
Good Luck fixin it.
  • Lost^Angel
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Lost^Angel
  • Posts: 18

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
How old is the computer? If it won't physically power on then you could have a bad power supply. Does the fan in the ps turn on?

About 6 month.., my computer is still new. and i have 2 fan, i already checked the problem is not about temperature.

Quote:
its not good to manually turn off the power.. like that

I don't turn off my computer, its automatically shutt down. now i got bad sector today , on drive D. windows still scanning my computer for a bad sector. this will be need a long long time.
i use my another computer to make post in this forum.

Quote:
How are you supporting 4 hard drives? Are 2 external, via USB?

internal , not external or via USB.

Quote:
When you remove the cable, are you talking about the power cable?

yes, i talking about that, if i don't remove the power cable, my computer don't want turn on.
the first time when this happen, i don't remove power cable, and i don't try turn on my computer about 3 days,
guess what ? when i try to turn on my computer , my computer still does not turn on anymore.
so i try to remove the power cable and wait as long as 10 minute, when i try again, is turn on.

Quote:
Couple other .When you say the computer is shutting down does it just shut down immediately on it's own?
or does it just freeze everything and you have to turn it off manually to get it to do anything?

Yes, immediately on it's own. and i don't turn off manually.

Quote:
Also is it always the same game, or different ones?

All Games, like battle realm, hulk , silent hill, Counter strike, etc.
browsing, chating, etc is still okay.

i will check my power supply and RAM today.

Thank You

Ambri
Indonesian
  • Foxy
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1038
  • Loc: places..

Post 3+ Months Ago

Maybe a Trojan or virus that makes your comp crash?
or shut down improperly, plus.. WHY DID YOU install windows 98 on a new COMP? :o :shocked:
  • Lost^Angel
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Lost^Angel
  • Posts: 18

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't think so, i have antivirus mcafee and firewall up to date.

Quote:
WHY DID YOU install windows 98 on a new COMP?

i often use this computer only for games, that's why. and many game don't support window xP, 2000, etc..
  • Foxy
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1038
  • Loc: places..

Post 3+ Months Ago

Dont support 2000? :|
2000 is like The best OS (besides macos) it combines 98 goodness with More options, and Better memory Handling (support to lots of ram o.o)..
also, did you know that windows 98 can run 368mb ram, and any mroe it will start to slow down and cause/start having problems. because it wasnt made to handle so much O.o
  • Lost^Angel
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Lost^Angel
  • Posts: 18

Post 3+ Months Ago

Wow.. i'am just know it, welll, thank you for sharing your information about windows 2000. maybe i will try it later. :oops:

But, can we back to the real topic again ? , i don't talk about my OS, or the best OS. i talk about my computer problem. please read again my post.



Thank You
Ambri
Indonesian
  • Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 5739
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ok, wild stab in the dark here....

Processor getting too hot :)

When you're playing a game (especially something pretty intensive like Halo or UT2K4), the processor's under SERIOUS load, so it generates a lot more heat. It gets too hot, it falls over and simply resets & reboots or powers off completely.

The reason you're unable to turn your PC back on is that many ATX motherboards will simply not allow you to turn on the PC if the processor is above a certain temperature. Once the processor cools to a satisfactory level, you press the power buton and all is well with the world..

Grab a copy of Motherboard Monitor, or find something that will allow you to keep an eye on your processor temps.

See what the processor idles at, and what temp it's at under heavy load. If you can find something that logs the temperatures, great (something that will record say a minimum, maximum & average temperature, and will allow you to reset those levels at will would be great).

I used to have this problem ALL the time on my Athlon 1Ghz. It was getting too hot because the room temperature was so warm. I had to take the side off the case so that hte warmer air could escape. Then the problem went away. Now that PC has a new fan, and is in a room that's cooler by about 10 degrees. No problems ever since.

I know you said you checked temps, but with 4 HDs in there, and with the processor under a heavy load, 2 fans ain't gonna cut it. My new PC is a Barton 2500, with 2 fans. One on the CPU and one on the side window of the case. Only 2 HDs. It still gets plenty hot, not hot enough to cause the problems I experienced on the 1Ghz, but not enough to worry me a little.
  • DuckIT
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 155
  • Loc: London, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'd go for the power problem personally. It could be that with 4 hard drives your running close to the limit of your power supply, then with the extra strain on the system of games it trips out the power supply for 10 minutes.

Why not open the case and post the wattage of the power supply? It will say something like 300W on the side. If its only a 220 or 250W that *could* be your problem. They generall recommend 300 or 350W power supplies for Athlon chips, and 4 HDD's is extra to that.

Anything else connected to the computer apart from the obvious? Any USB devices?

S
  • Vladdrac
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2136
  • Loc: Louisville, Ky

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yeah, I am going to have to agree with Axe. That is what it kind of sounds like to me. You are not overclocking are you?

Perhaps you are not getting enough airflow throung your case.

Alongside with getting something that will monitor your mobo temp, you may want to see if playing the game with your case open will let you play longer without shutting down.

If so then you may need to get another fan somewhere. Did you build it yourself?
  • Smokenjoe
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1573
  • Loc: Anchorage, AK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yeah, Axe had a good point. Its just like your house wiring. If one of your electrical outlets overloads, then the breaker box will flip off that power, or blow a fuse, to protect the house. Same type of thing with a computer.
  • Lost^Angel
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Lost^Angel
  • Posts: 18

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi friends,

My computer is ok righ now, i found the problem.
the problem is :
- My power supply is broken.
- CPU temparature is Too Hot...!! / 60 degress Celcius :oops:

So , i buy a new Power supply and buy 2 fan again. after that i don't getting problem anymore.

when i know the power supply is broken, i don't believe it, how can... ?? this computer is still new, about 6 month..

well, thank you for your help friends. i can play my favorite game without shutting down automatic anymore. :lol:

finally ... Let;s go..!!...let's go...!!! , Fire in the Hole...!!! ( Joke )


Let's Play The Game.

Ambri
Indonesian
  • Vladdrac
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2136
  • Loc: Louisville, Ky

Post 3+ Months Ago

hmmm, everyone was right.

Well I think your power supply got overloaded.
  • Smokenjoe
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1573
  • Loc: Anchorage, AK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Glad its fixed. Have fun with the grenades and all.

:lol:
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23460
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Lost^Angel wrote:

when i know the power supply is broken, i don't believe it, how can... ?? this computer is still new, about 6 month..

well, thank you for your help friends. i can play my favorite game without shutting down automatic anymore. :lol:

finally ... Let;s go..!!...let's go...!!! , Fire in the Hole...!!! ( Joke )


Let's Play The Game.

Ambri
Indonesian




I think the answer to "how can?" is that you seem to be pushing your computer to it's maximum edge.... My best guess is you will probably see this resurface.
  • ThATKiD
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 321
  • Loc: somewere over there

Post 3+ Months Ago

he shouldnt see this resruface if he gets a decent heatsink/fan combo and a 400w psu

for the big boys water cooling and a 500w psu

for the really crazy phase change cooling ( nothing like -70c to let you reach 4.5+ gig ) :twisted:
  • SKATER
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 76

Post 3+ Months Ago

Lost^Angel wrote:
I don't think so, i have antivirus mcafee and firewall up to date.

Quote:
WHY DID YOU install windows 98 on a new COMP?

i often use this computer only for games, that's why. and many game don't support window xP, 2000, etc..


get rid of the McAfee and install norton. why do you need a software firewall? they can be hacked by the simplest and newest of hackers. Get a hardware firewall or a router.

I have to agree w/ Axe. sounds like the CPU is over heating. Personally I have solid copper heatsink w/ a 7400+ RPM fan on it.
  • Johan007
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1080
  • Loc: Aldershot, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Get rid of the case fans as they make very little deference (less than 1C to the CPU) and just puts more strain on the Power Supply Unit and you brian cos of the noise.

The best thing as said is a copper or copper based heat sink but also a pea sized dollop of some specialist cooling grease with a name like Arctic Mist really helps.
  • Vladdrac
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2136
  • Loc: Louisville, Ky

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't think getting rid of case fans would be a good idea
  • Johan007
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1080
  • Loc: Aldershot, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

do a few test if you dont believe me. I am using a Abit Guru motherboard to monitor temperatures and fan speed and find case fans make no deference. Its overclocker company hype.
  • Vladdrac
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2136
  • Loc: Louisville, Ky

Post 3+ Months Ago

well I know that you really need to let some air circulate through the case. Perhaps it makes no difference on the cpu, but there are other things on the mobo that could over heat. Plus heat builds up inside that case after a while, and it needs to be ventilated
  • Lost^Angel
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • Lost^Angel
  • Posts: 18

Post 3+ Months Ago

Sorry for restarted this topic again...

My computer have slow ( very slow ) respond , opening document like notepad is about 5 second or more..

anyone can give me a solution for this ?

my computer spec is still same ( read my #1 post ) .


Thanks

ambri
indonesian

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 25 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.