cpu problem or not?

• liltman
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • liltman
  • Loc: England, Hartlepool, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

hi all, first i think this is the right section.

my computer when I first got it (last winter) was virtually silent, to the point where you could not tell it was turned on.

now it is really loud, I can hear it if I go and sit downstairs lol which is getting rather annoying for anyone downstairs.

I have cleaned it out the other week, and also cleaned it out again today, and made sure everything is in place correctly, it seems less loud now but still a lot louder than when I first got it.

I also downloaded a program to check things called hmonitor, and it highlights my cpu, take a look at this picture...

Shot at 2007-08-01

I am not sure how to fix this if it is an issue, obviously do not want cpu problems or overheating problems but I am not too experienced with the hardware side of things (i did build the computer myself though so I know a fair bit).

also the running speed and the performance of my computer has remained great regardless of the noise level.

cheers for any help

Kev
  • grinch2171
  • Genius
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

The noise could be credited to fans. Replacing them isn't expensive and you may want to look at the fans that are rated to be extremely quiet. Noise could also be coming from your hard drives. As for CPU temps you need to checkout your heat sink fan and maybe invest in a top of the line one. You could also pop the processor out and clean off the thermal paste and reapply thermal paste. I prefer Arctic Silver. I had an over heating problem about a year ago and that was the culprit.
  • liltman
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • liltman

Post 3+ Months Ago

grinch2171 wrote: