cpu processor

  • psuedofy
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 749
  • Loc: long island, NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

i have been convinced that amd 64 is better then p4...but i dont understand one thing....why do p4 have higher clock rates...up to 3.8ghz and amd 64 up to 2.99???
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Posts: 1774
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

AMD 64 is a true 64bit CPU [ current CPU's are 32bit ] and supports Windows new 64bit O/S Longhorn. P4 CPU's can use 64bit software but not to the extent that the AMD 64 can as Intel use EMT64 which makes the CPU act like a 64bit CPU.

These days clock speed is not everything because alot of the work done by the CPU has been passed to dedicated devices [ like rendergin graphics ]. The reason AMD have lower clock speeds is because they do more work per cycle compared to Intel. This also causes AMD's to run hotter.

If your comparing an AMD to an Intel, you need to look closer than just clock speed alone to compare.
  • psuedofy
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 749
  • Loc: long island, NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

so then which processor and motherboard would recommend for gaming.....thats all i will be doing with it. and would it be better if i get a dual gpu? rather then a normal chipset. i understand the problems with the cooling
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Posts: 1774
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

If you have the money for it, an AMD 64 FX-55 would be a sweet gaming system. Thing is they are a bit expensive right now.

If your on a budget like most normal people then something like :

Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
Athlon 64 3500+ Socket 939

Get the socket 939 as this is the way AMD CPU's are going. You could get skt 754 but seeing as the new AMD 64 X2 CPU's are skt 939, theres no point.
  • psuedofy
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 749
  • Loc: long island, NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

if i get all this and a heat sink and cpu cooling fan...will it fit in a mid tower case??
  • sandman6471
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • sandman6471
  • Posts: 187
  • Loc: In My Dreams

Post 3+ Months Ago

As long as your case is AMD approved. It it's not you could have problems with warranty with AMD. I just had AMD CPU's L2 Cache go bad and the way it looks right now AMD is trying to renig on the warranty.

Why does that not suprise me :shock:
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Posts: 1774
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

All you need to do is make sure your tower is wide enough for the HSF to fit in. Check the measurements of both if your uncertain.

Most reputable brands such as Thermaltake & Cooler Master are AMD & Intel approved.

You could always look into water cooling ?
  • psuedofy
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 749
  • Loc: long island, NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

what type of cpu should i get for a laptop or what kind of laptop would u xperts recommend...it will be used for everything but amongst other things i want it to last long on batteries and run cool
anything u guys can cook up to help me with one and another?
  • psuedofy
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 749
  • Loc: long island, NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

im also on a budget...no more then 1500
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Posts: 1774
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

Pounds or dollars ?
  • psuedofy
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 749
  • Loc: long island, NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

sorry bout that 1....dollars
  • GT500Shlby
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1205
  • Loc: Philadelphia, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago

For $950 You could do a decent gaming system:

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice
Mobo: DFI LANParty nF4 SLI socket 939
RAM: 1GB Kingston ValueRAM (2x512MB) Dual Channel Kit
GPU: (2x) XFX GeForce 6600GT 128MB SLI PCI-E x16
HDD: WD Caviar SATA 160GB HDD
DVD: OptoRite IDE DVD-Burner
Case: Antec Solution Series SLK1650 w/ 350W PSU

With Tax and Shipping from Newegg you can grab that for $1108.60

There is a combo deal with the proc and the mobo. But watch, there are two versions of that chip. The Venice is the better of the two.
  • TomK
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 816
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

GT500Shlby wrote:
For $950 You could do a decent gaming system:

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice
Mobo: DFI LANParty nF4 SLI socket 939
RAM: 1GB Kingston ValueRAM (2x512MB) Dual Channel Kit
GPU: (2x) XFX GeForce 6600GT 128MB SLI PCI-E x16
HDD: WD Caviar SATA 160GB HDD
DVD: OptoRite IDE DVD-Burner
Case: Antec Solution Series SLK1650 w/ 350W PSU

With Tax and Shipping from Newegg you can grab that for $1108.60

There is a combo deal with the proc and the mobo. But watch, there are two versions of that chip. The Venice is the better of the two.


That sounds good except it would be much better to get a GeForce 6800 GT or a Radeon X800 XL than 2 6600GTs in SLi. Not only would this allow you to save money by purchasing a cheaper non-SLi motherboard, but you would also have better graphics performance to boot.
  • psuedofy
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 749
  • Loc: long island, NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

ati has recently come out with a dual gpu chipset right??? called crossfire or sumthin...where can i find it
350watts would be enough for a gaming computer
what does venice...and clawhammer...and newcastle what differences does it make.....
how the hell are u guys so good at computers!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Posts: 1774
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

The DFI is great for O/Cing and if that sort of thing interests you I suggest you look at either the AMD 64 3200+ or AMD 3500+ Winchester cores as they have great potential for that sort of thing.

Other than that, the system supplied by GT look pretty damned sexy for the price !
  • GT500Shlby
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1205
  • Loc: Philadelphia, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Actually yeah it does look sexy. I was building it on Newegg and became very tempted to check out right then and there.

I'll explain the CPU cores when I get to work.
  • TomK
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 816
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

hustlinpapi1 wrote:
ati has recently come out with a dual gpu chipset right??? called crossfire or sumthin...where can i find it
350watts would be enough for a gaming computer
what does venice...and clawhammer...and newcastle what differences does it make.....
how the hell are u guys so good at computers!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Crossfire isn't coming out for a while so I wouldn't wait for it.

Venice, Clawhammer, and Newcastle are just different editions of the AMD 64 processor line. Venice is the newest edition and comes with SSE3 support. There's really no reason I've seen to go with any processor other than the latest edition.
  • GT500Shlby
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1205
  • Loc: Philadelphia, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago

beat me to the punch. :-)

Venice is better than Clawhammer, but then San Diego is even better than that. In addition to the SSE3 and the updated 3DNOW! Professional the Venice and San Diego cores also add whats called DSL technology. Which stands for Dual Stress Liner. This is a development of better semiconducters increasing their performance by as much as 24%.
  • GT500Shlby
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1205
  • Loc: Philadelphia, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago

The prices between the Clawhammer and the Venice or nill. On newegg the same processor with the same speed ratings but with the two different cores were the same price. The San Diego cores I believe are not easily obtainable at the moment, and they would most likely be slightly more expensive.
  • TomK
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 816
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

GT500Shlby wrote:
The prices between the Clawhammer and the Venice or nill. On newegg the same processor with the same speed ratings but with the two different cores were the same price. The San Diego cores I believe are not easily obtainable at the moment, and they would most likely be slightly more expensive.


San Diego's are more expensive because they have more cache and start at a faster speed (3700+ is the lowest I believe).
  • GT500Shlby
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1205
  • Loc: Philadelphia, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago

True, so far all I see is the 3700 to the 4000, but I believe they plan on going all the way up to 4500. If the X2's are going to be able to support the same motherboards on the 939 arch, then in the next few months would be a great time to build a new system on the 939. Ensure upgradeability for quite a while.
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Posts: 1774
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

http://www.techwarelabs.com/reviews/processors/amd_x2/

Bit of light reading on the X2
  • GT500Shlby
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1205
  • Loc: Philadelphia, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago

In short:

"we're not worthy! We're not worthy! We're Scum! We Suck!" :handsup:

15 minute XP Pro install? :iconpuker: :iconpukel:

It'll make you laugh, It'll make you cry, It'll make you hurl!
  • 5k1LLz
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • 5k1LLz
  • Posts: 40

Post 3+ Months Ago

buddy the amd fx 55 clocks in like at 5.4ghz man
  • TomK
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 816
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

5k1LLz wrote:
buddy the amd fx 55 clocks in like at 5.4ghz man


Is this a joke? Gah, I can't take not being able to detect sarcasm on the internet.
  • lucassix
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 2350
  • Loc: Indiana

Post 3+ Months Ago

5k1LLz wrote:
buddy the amd fx 55 clocks in like at 5.4ghz man


Um, no. 2.6Ghz
http://www.amdcompare.com/us-en/desktop ... FX55DEI5AS
  • psuedofy
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 749
  • Loc: long island, NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

amd 64 3700+/2.20ghz socket 939 2000mhz= 329.99$
amd 64 3500+/2.20ghz socket 939 2000mhz= 269.99$
whats up with the price difference??? which would u choose
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Posts: 1774
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

lucassix wrote:
5k1LLz wrote:
buddy the amd fx 55 clocks in like at 5.4ghz man


Um, no. 2.6Ghz
http://www.amdcompare.com/us-en/desktop ... FX55DEI5AS


Perhaps hes confusing the new X2 with the FX55 ?

hustlinpapi1 wrote:
amd 64 3700+/2.20ghz socket 939 2000mhz= 329.99$
amd 64 3500+/2.20ghz socket 939 2000mhz= 269.99$
whats up with the price difference??? which would u choose


The 3500+ is the Venice Core, the 3700+ is the San Diego core.

Personally I don't reckon there is a lot of difference in the two cores so I would go with the Venice core as they both perform pretty much the same.

Other people may have different opinions though.
  • grimshit
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 303
  • Loc: Wiltshire, England

Post 3+ Months Ago

Youve all forgotton about the Winchester core, but now its not important anyway. The Venices is the updated version of it which is ment to overclock very well, i would avoid the 3000+ and 3500+ which dont appear to be overclocking that well in general.
  • psuedofy
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 749
  • Loc: long island, NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

when u overclock ur cpu how much life do u take away from it? estimate.
say if my mobo max speed is 2ghz and i overclock my cpu...can i use it still past the speed limit?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 40 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.