dual hard drives

• mollymonticello
  • Born
  • Born
  • mollymonticello
  • Loc: Altoona, PA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi everyone! :) I am new to computers, and I need some advice.

I have an old Compaq with a 20G hard drive with windows 98. I was given 2 bare 30G hard drives with Windows ME recently. I checked them seperately, and they work. I have 7G (!) of songs on my tiny li'l hard drive. So what I would like to do is either A) have dual hard drives permanently or B) have dual hard drives long enough to copy my favorite files to my new 30G hard drive or C) Find a way to get the files from my 20G to my new 30G any other way.

The problem I am having doing dual hard drives is this--one of my hard drives has 98, one has ME. Which operating system will start up? Do I need to F disk the 30? (I have a copy of ME to reinstall) How do I F disk a hard drive?

The second problem is this--how do I know if I have 2 slots on the motherboard to plug in the hard drives? I have two grey, thick, flat cables somewhere that are marked "master" and "slave." If anyone knows where there is a tutorial or even a diagram (including picture) of a motherboard and where all of its components go, I would be very happy!

I apologize for the length and complexity of this post, and thank anyone with advice in advance!
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• grinch2171
  • Genius
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

Personally, if you are happy with Win98 then I wouldn't worry about ME. On the back of the 30GB drive there is a jumper that you will need to set to Master. Once that is done. Connect the hard drive to the grey flat cable marked Master, then plug in the 4 pin power adapter from your power supply. Boot into Win98 and open up my computer and right click the new hard drive and select format. Then you can copy all 9GB of mp3's over.
  • think.correctly
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: markham, ontario

Post 3+ Months Ago