Gaming & Wireless vs. Wired Routing questions

• Merlyn
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: Oregon

Post 3+ Months Ago

So I am a college student, and my BEFSR41 Linksys router (non-wireless) just died with a solid red diagnostic light on.

I am looking at purchasing a new router.

I set up our home wireless network back at my familie's house with ease.

My question is this:

What is the best router out there for gaming and would it be wired or wireless? The reason I ask is because I was just browsing on my laptop which I am currently leeching off of someone elses network and looking at wireless routers, and they seem to have data rates of up to 108Mbps now which to my understanding would be faster than your conventional 10/100 Cat5 wired connection.

So I guess I am asking would I be better off just getting a new wireless router capable of 108Mbps data rates instead of just being plugged into the router?

Thanks for all of your input.
  • bleepnik
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: South Jersey, US

Post 3+ Months Ago

The research that I recently did for myself led me to believe that the Belkin Wireless Pre-N Router would be my best bet.
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

The DLink MIMO Wireless SuperG Router is a very good router as it has excellent coverage and is capable of travelling through thick walls.

http://www.dlink.com/products/?sec=0&pid=385
  • Merlyn
  • Guru
  • Guru

Post 3+ Months Ago

So you're saying that for gaming I can go with wireless now instead of standard wired and see little difference?
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki

Post 3+ Months Ago

With that router, yes.
  • Nucleo
  • SausagePorkPie
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: UK - England

Post 3+ Months Ago

stay very far away from belkin, unless you want free kit
  • Shadow Knight
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: Soy Cubano, no puedo ser diferent!!

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
stay very far away from belkin