2 Gigs Ram Upgrade Crashes PC

• TsX
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

I've been under gig of ram for too damn long, and when I finally got my upgrade to some nice 1 x 1gb dual channel memory, it just WON'T WORK!

So here's the deal. I installed them immediately upon arrival and windows would not completely boot. So I took one out, and left the other one in, everything works fine. Testing the other stick, works fine. But whenever the two sticks are together, whether in dual channel slots or not, it DOESN'T WORK. I can't even install a fresh copy of windows or ubuntu.

So any ideas? After some research I was thinking the power supply, but I'm not an expert tech or anything. The computer is 5-6 years old now, it only has a 400W power supply for a Pentium 4 CPU... I just don't know if a lack of power could cause this. Come to think about it, could I test for that by removing a lot of my extra components? Or it is based off what the motherboard is getting?

Like I said I am not a tech expert when it comes to power. I remember way back when I thought messing with the voltage options would be cool... not cool...
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

What mother board is in there? Did you read the specifications for it before you bought the memory? Sometimes the memory sticks can't be that large and with all mother boards there is a limit as to how much it can take. That's why you have to know what mother board is there.
  • TsX
  • Graduate
  • Graduate

Post 3+ Months Ago

Double Checked It I am pretty sure, but just in case you want to look

Albatron PX865PE Pro II

google search link for you

The memory is G-Skill, PC3200 (400mhz) Dual Channel 2 x 1 Gig

Motherboard should support 4 GB as reading the specs claim. And I am only putting in 2 gigs. So I believe that aspect should be good.