Going Wireless

• prophetesque
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • prophetesque

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am thinking of adding a wireless card to my laptop, which is a dell inspiron 5150 with a mobile p4, 60 Gb HDD, 3.06GB with HT, 512 DDR RAM and XP home SP1. It is a new computer, and i decided not to get the wireless card stock, but am changing my mind. I havent opened this thing up, and have never owned a laptop before, so is it going to be hard to install if i get one? I am new to wireless tech also, and am wondering if the cards generate a lot of heat? I've read a little about it, and so the hardware install would basically be putting the card in, and routing the antenna correct? What cards would be good for this? Is getting a card better than getting a USB device for occasional-frequent wireless use? I know very little about this, so tell me a lot. Thanks.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• beings
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • Loc: Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

if you are new to opening computer and there internal workings i suggest you get the usb device. My father uses the usb device everyday it seems to be just as good as the card, just simpler.
  • ModernDestroyer
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: California

Post 3+ Months Ago