Graphics Card Debate ATI/Nvidia

• Nucleo
  • SausagePorkPie
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: UK - England

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi all
I need a new vid card and I have narrowed down my choices to 2 very similarily priced cards...

which should i have
Geforce fx 5900 128mb 8x agp
ATI Sapphire 9800pro 128mb 8x agp

i have been browsing hardware forums for a while now but i need some advice from normal people lol
I start a thread and all i get is
"ATI rule, Nvidia are crap!"
"Nvidia Are the best, screw ATI"

so can i just have a normal debate as to which and why...

thanks! 8)
  • Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • Loc: Sub-level 28

Post 3+ Months Ago

Well, I've been using ATI for the last 6 or 7 years and never had any problems aside from the video capture on my ol' 32Meg AGP Rage Fury Pro 128 VIVO not working on the Soyo 5EHM motherboard (but I had a Pinnacle Studio DC10+ so that was no biggy, heh) and a couple of game incompatibilities under Win2K (The Morrowind map editor for example).

Right now, I've got two ATI cards in here..

64Meg AGP Radeon 8500 Dual Head (used to be a Radeon DDR VIVO)
64Meg PCI Radeon 7500 Dual Head

This gives me a total of 4 monitor outputs for a nice big desktop - although, only one monitor hooked up to it at the moment due to lack of deskspace, heh.

3D runs good enough, 2D runs lightning fast. I've seen NVidias on similar spec systems to the ones I've had, and generally I've been more impressed with ATI. I've been an ATI Guy ever since I switched from my dual 12Meg Creative VooDoo2's oh so many years ago :)
  • Nucleo
  • SausagePorkPie
  • Mastermind

Post 3+ Months Ago

lol...

thanks..

i forgot to say that i would be using the new vid card for gaming ;)
  • Axe
  • Genius
  • Genius

Post 3+ Months Ago

For gaming my ATI works great. Personally, if I had a good amount of money to spend on my PC right now, my first purchase would be the 256Meg Radeon 9800 (or whatever the latest incarnation of it is), which has like a $500 price-tag.