Hard Drive Crash, any suggestions?

• taguy83
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • taguy83
  • Loc: Michigan

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello,

I am new the the site. I am an IT Technician, but about 1 year ago on my home PC running XP Pro, i was sitting there on my computer and all of a suddden a blue screen came up and said something like:

"Windows Fatal Error blah blah, please press any key to restart."

So i hit the enter key and that drive has never booted again.

I have some data recovery utilities that I use at work, and it sees the drive, so i know it turns on, but it comes up as a very weird and scrambled drive name with a bunch of letters and numbers like: A7433HFDUIFADFO.......

In windows explorer it will not even show up, but with the programs i have that are DOS based it says its a drive, and it shows up in the BIOS, but i cannot get anything to actually show up as far as files on the drive. I had soooo much stuff on that drive, thats why i still have it after a year, i am hoping there might be someway to get things off it. Anyone ever experience this? Any suggestions? I think i might try to change the HD COntroller on the drive for beginners.

Thanks
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• pramitroy
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • pramitroy

Post 3+ Months Ago

Quote:
Windows Fatal Error blah blah, please press any key to restart.

Are you sure? I don't know whether Windows has any error message of this kind.

Don't know whether a serious case of boot record virus. But before trying to say more about how to resolve boot record virus I am looking forward for any other's suggestion.
  • grinch2171
  • Genius
  • Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Post 3+ Months Ago

One thing you can try to do is boot from a Linux live CD like Knoppix. Personally I have never tried this but I have friends who are Linux nuts and have recovered data from Windows machines using it.

http://www.knoppix.net/
  • taguy83
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • taguy83

Post 3+ Months Ago