Hard Drive Overclocking

• Truce
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Truce
  • Loc: Washington DC

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am new to overclocking and I already have fast RAM and a fast CPU. I am waiting a lot on my HDD and I was wondering what nees to be done to overclock my HD and if you guys have any do's and don'ts. I know I can just google it, but I would rather have many peoples opinions.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• JrzyCrim
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind

Post 3+ Months Ago

I never heard of over-clocking a hard drive. They're limited by their rotation speed. Increasing that significantly, if it's possible, would probably generate too much heat or just render the drive unusable. Those are just guesses on my part but I'd say the best thing you could do is invest in a faster drive.
  • ThATKiD
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: somewere over there

Post 3+ Months Ago

hardrives are mechanicle thus u cant overclock ... you can over clock any other peice of hard ware in your computer by increasing current and voltage. not a hard drive. jim is right get a western digital raptor
  • Johan007
  • Guru
  • Guru
  • Loc: Aldershot, UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

You best upgrade to SERIAL ATA drive that runs at 10,000rmp or RAID two hard drives.
  • ThATKiD
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: somewere over there

Post 3+ Months Ago

:: points up :: the western digital raptor is sata and works at 10000 rpm
  • Smokenjoe
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: Anchorage, AK

Post 3+ Months Ago

I have actually overclocked a harddrive by increasing the electromagnetic charge in the spinners and on the reader itself.

The result: The drive exploded and I got a nasty burn on my hand. Dont try this at home kids!!!!