installing old hard drive in to new pc

  • Mike S
  • Born
  • Born
  • Mike S
  • Posts: 4

Post 3+ Months Ago

i got a new computer and i am tring to install my old hard drive into to it
i got the new computer with out a hard drive thinking i could just use my old one
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Set the BIOS to auto detect for one thing. You may have a driver problem after you get it running. I hope you have the a CD with the mother board drivers.
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6376
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

new vs old -- could be an IDE hard drive and your new computer is a sata board. Check that as well.
  • Mike S
  • Born
  • Born
  • Mike S
  • Posts: 4

Post 3+ Months Ago

i have tried the auto detect and it still doesnt identify it
i do know the new is a sata but i am not sure about the old if it is IDE does that mean the hard drive will not work with it
the hard drive is a westeren digital
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Do you have the jumpers set correctly and is it on the proper cable and cable connector? What mother board is in the new PC? Make sure it's connected in the correct spot.

Who built the new PC for you? Is it new or just new to you?
  • Mike S
  • Born
  • Born
  • Mike S
  • Posts: 4

Post 3+ Months Ago

i got the computer off ebay it is new new
the mother board is GA-M61SME-SE form gigabyte i gess how do i find out for sure
  • Mike S
  • Born
  • Born
  • Mike S
  • Posts: 4

Post 3+ Months Ago

here is the item number for the same computer on ebay now
350014266336 if this helps i dont know
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

You said you bought the PC w/o a HD but then you said the new one is SATA and the old one is IDE.

Either way, you're going to have to dig a little deeper into the system. Open the box and get the exact model # of the mother board. Also, make sure that the ribbon cable is connected to the IDE controller if the drive is IDE. Get a good flashlight and a pair of glasses if you need them.

Go back into the BIOS to make sure that everything is enabled.
  • righteous_trespasser
  • Scuffle
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6230
  • Loc: South-Africa

Post 3+ Months Ago

Mike S wrote:
i do know the new is a sata but i am not sure about the old if it is IDE

SATA
IDE
That's what the connectors look like that fit into the HDD's ... maybe that'll help ...
  • bonkaw
  • Born
  • Born
  • bonkaw
  • Posts: 4

Post 3+ Months Ago

fist check your cable data good or bad

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 10 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
cron
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.