Keyboard question,

• ManicalIdiot
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • ManicalIdiot
  • Loc: Virginia

Post 3+ Months Ago

This is probably a opinion question but what is better for a keyboard connection, USB or PS/2? I don't really trust that USB will stay in it's slot as much as I trust PS/2 but it seems most keyboards are designed for USB, does the USB port make them any more responsive than a PS/2 port?
  • taguy83
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • taguy83
  • Loc: Michigan

Post 3+ Months Ago

Being an IT Technician, I deal with these things everyday. I see no difference between the two at all. The only nice thing about USB is that if if does become disconnected usually all you have to do is plug it back in and it works. With PS/2, you have to restart the computer. Which is not cool if you were in the middle of something.
  • Tchuki
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Tchuki
  • Loc: Edinburgh

Post 3+ Months Ago

taguy83 wrote:
Being an IT Technician, I deal with these things everyday. I see no difference between the two at all. The only nice thing about USB is that if if does become disconnected usually all you have to do is plug it back in and it works. With PS/2, you have to restart the computer. Which is not cool if you were in the middle of something.

Not always, I regularly swap my PS/2 keyboard from one PC to another without requiring any restart. This only works as long as the mouse and keyboard are connected via the PS/2 port during the boot process.

There is no signigicant difference in the time taken between pressing a key and the character appearing on the screen, it's mainly just that PS/2 is becoming "old" and people are moving towards USB.
  • taguy83
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • taguy83

Post 3+ Months Ago