D-Link WBR-2310 router will not let msn load, please help

  • tek9
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 70
  • Loc: Novascotia, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

Windows XP Pro
latest updates
latest firmware


Hello, i have a D-Link WBR-2310 wireless router, and it will not let MSN load up, once i unplug the router or turn off my wireless card.. up pops MSN, then when i plug the either net cable back in or turn on my wireless card.. MSN freezes up.

This is very annoying, i bought a new routher to try to fix this and it's still doing it.. this just started recently.

Any Help is greatly appreciated


Thanks

-Tek
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

It sounds like you have 2 interfaces on the PC enabled at the same time. You can't do that. How are you getting an IP if wireless is off and the cable is unplugged? Are you connecting the cat5 directly to the modem to make it work? Explain your network. It should be
Modem > Router > Switch (if any) > All PCs.
Each PC should only have one NIC enabled at a time.
  • tek9
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 70
  • Loc: Novascotia, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

modem, router, hard wired to main PC, and i also have a hard wire to my laptop but i use the wireless at the same time on my laptop if i got the laptop at the desk.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

It's one or the other for the laptop. Don't enable both NICs at the same time. I think that is your problem.
  • tek9
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 70
  • Loc: Novascotia, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

I've tried that, it doesn't matter which i have on.. if one is on then msn won;t load. its the router I'm pretty sure, i think i may need to open a port or something?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Wait a minute. One of them has to be on in order for MSN to load. If both if them are off, how can the laptop get an IP address? That's impossible.
  • tek9
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 70
  • Loc: Novascotia, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

msn will still load up if you have no internet connection, but you just cant sign in. its not the signing in thats my problem, well it is but my main problem is that msn just wont load up at all, like when you click the icon.. nothing happens.. until i either bypass my router or unplug(hard wire) or turn off (wireless card) my internet connection to my laptop.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

That's strange to say the least but if that's what's happening, it has nothing to do with ports. Do both NICs have to be off or disconnected or off for it to load? Look at the event viewer for clues as to what's happening.
  • tek9
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 70
  • Loc: Novascotia, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

yes my computer has to be disconnected from my router in order for MSN to load. I don't really know what I'm looking for in event viewer?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

There are three sets of logs in event viewer, application, security and system. Look for errors marked in red in system and applications and just for kicks, shut your firewall just in case it's something there.
  • tek9
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 70
  • Loc: Novascotia, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

i got some under system,

DCOM
service control manager
print

Under applications:

Application hang, this is the MSN one, in properties under Description it says:

Hanging application msnmsgr.exe, version 8.1.178.0, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000

And turning off my firewall/anti virus doesn't help. i think it may be the routers firewall or something.
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Is that the latest version of msnmgr? If not, upgrade it.
  • tek9
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 70
  • Loc: Novascotia, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

no i didn't have the latest version, i got the latest one now. its working but i should also mention that this only happens sometimes, sometimes it will load sometimes it won't. like today, it loads fine, and last night it wouldn't load at all.

any ideas?
  • Don2007
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Don2007
  • Posts: 4924
  • Loc: NY

Post 3+ Months Ago

Run msconfig, disable everything under the startup tab for now. See what happens.
  • tek9
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 70
  • Loc: Novascotia, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

Ok, i already have that limited to what i need to run. the new version of MSN seems to be working so far, as i said before this is an intermitting problem, so it may come back. ill post back here if it does.

Thanks for your help

-Tek
  • tek9
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 70
  • Loc: Novascotia, Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

Yup it started again, this is frustrating

Does anyone have any ideas about what may be causing this?

Thanks

-Tek
  • ezapper2
  • Born
  • Born
  • ezapper2
  • Posts: 2

Post 3+ Months Ago

did you ever find tthe answer to thiS???

I have your issue exactly to the tee.
I can repro with dlink 624 and 615.
3 machines with win xp have the problem. no wireless on one machine.
msn only loads when it feels like or if I kill network connection.
when it does work, it will hang if I use my web cam.

I have a forth machine with Vista. this one works great!!

still looking for answers on the XP machines though
  • ezapper2
  • Born
  • Born
  • ezapper2
  • Posts: 2

Post 3+ Months Ago

email me at ezapper2@msn.com if you can help

thanks

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 18 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
cron
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.